Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
Factor6
ROM Dongle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 10:19 pm

Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby Factor6 » Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:22 pm

I have a GoldCard with floppy controller. When I tried to connect a standard PC 3,5" floppy drive, it didn't work. Is it possible to modify such a FDD somehow to get it working on the QL? For example the way like on Amiga (some little soldering..) And will the HXC floppy emulator work with GoldCard?

thanks,
F6


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2643
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby RWAP » Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:17 am

You can get a modern PC disk drive to work with the QL by taking a standard PC floppy disk drive cable and removing the existing twist in the cable. You then need to swap pins 10 and 12 on the cable to get the floppy disk recognised as the master (DS0)

If you are really lucky, there are some jumpers on the disk drive to select DS0 or DS1 (normally not on a modern disk drive though) in which case you can move the jumper to DS0 and just use a straight untwisted cable.

As for the HxC Floppy disk emulator - this works well with the Gold Card to allow DD and HD disk image access. Unfortunately, I still need an ED disk image to try!


Factor6
ROM Dongle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 10:19 pm

Re: Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby Factor6 » Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:50 am

It works! Thank you!

F6


User avatar
Mr_Navigator
QL Fanatic
Posts: 782
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:17 pm
Location: UK, Essex
Contact:

Re: Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby Mr_Navigator » Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:09 pm

RWAP wrote:You can get a modern PC disk drive to work with the QL by taking a standard PC floppy disk drive cable and removing the existing twist in the cable. You then need to swap pins 10 and 12 on the cable to get the floppy disk recognised as the master (DS0)


So will this work for two FDs ?


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
QLick here for the Back 2 the QL Blog http://backtotheql.blogspot.co.uk/
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2643
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby RWAP » Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:47 am

Of course, the second floppy disk drive just needs to be placed on the cable before the twist on pins 10+12 (as PC floppy disk drives are set up as DS1 (FLP2_) by default).


User avatar
belg4rion67
Trump Card
Posts: 188
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:15 pm
Location: Milan - Italy

Re: Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby belg4rion67 » Wed May 18, 2011 10:19 am

Hi, I've followed your suggests and my floppy drive works very fine with QL and Sandy drive interface!!
Someone knows if is possible to connect and use a DD/HD (1.44 Mb.) floppy disk drive?

Many thanks for your help


Only original hardware! :)
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2643
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby RWAP » Wed May 18, 2011 2:52 pm

A HD (1.44Mb) drive will work in the same way subject to the above modifications.

However, only the Gold Card and Super Gold Card by Miracle Systems can read/write HD disks.
All of the other disk interfaces will try to format HD disks to DD (720K) which can be very unreliable.


User avatar
belg4rion67
Trump Card
Posts: 188
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:15 pm
Location: Milan - Italy

Re: Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby belg4rion67 » Wed May 18, 2011 9:55 pm

Ah ok Rich, I suppose that but I thought there was a firmware version that could do it...
I'm satisfied yet in this manner: more better than microdrive :D


Only original hardware! :)
ergonql
ROM Dongle
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 11:00 am
Contact:

Re: Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby ergonql » Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:52 pm

Hi All,

as I have an original QL DD floppy disk drive (i.e. case, power supply etc.), what I should do if I just would like to swap the existing DD floppy drive with a new HD one to upgrade my unit?

thanks and regards

Davide


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1464
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Modifying modern floppy drive for QL

Postby Derek_Stewart » Sun Jun 30, 2019 10:58 pm

Hi Davide,

The HD drive maybe designed for a PC, so the drive select will be set to DS1 which the QL will see as FLP2_

You need to change disk drive select to DS0 for FLP1_


Regards,

Derek

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests