The Investronica Starmouse from Spain

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
Chr$
Super Gold Card
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: StarMouse

Postby Chr$ » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:12 pm

badaman wrote:
Chr$ asked me this question in the welcome forum, and I thought it would be interesting to answer here for those who do not know about the existence of this mouse for QL.



Excellent, I don't need to ask my Spanish mate anymore. What are the changes made on the newer version, out of interest? Is it no longer fixed to the addresses specified in the code, so will run on a QL with more than 128k?

And also, can you confirm that the drawing program thing that came with it, is all you can actually use the StarMouse for?

(vanpeebles, may as well merge this with this if you feel like it viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3061&p=30341&hilit=starmouse#p30341)


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original QL's: 3x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff and 100+ original software titles)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
badaman
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:18 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: StarMouse

Postby badaman » Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:05 pm

NormanDunbar wrote:If it wasn't for dung beetles, we would be very very deep in you know what by now!

What's brown, good for the garden and sounds like a bell?
Dung!


The author of the article referred to the shape of the mouse and despised its poor use with this simile. :D :D
Last edited by badaman on Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.


User avatar
badaman
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:18 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: StarMouse

Postby badaman » Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:15 pm

Chr$ wrote:
badaman wrote:
Chr$ asked me this question in the welcome forum, and I thought it would be interesting to answer here for those who do not know about the existence of this mouse for QL.



Excellent, I don't need to ask my Spanish mate anymore. What are the changes made on the newer version, out of interest? Is it no longer fixed to the addresses specified in the code, so will run on a QL with more than 128k?

And also, can you confirm that the drawing program thing that came with it, is all you can actually use the StarMouse for?


What I remember is that StarMouse uses the arrow keys to move the pointer, but check the SuperBASIC code of the "ins" and "pro" files.

Next is the information provided by Salvador Merino about Starmouse Pro 128:

Starmouse final version modified to run on compatible QLs faster than the original (Starmouse only runs on 128K RAM)

I have also added a new version of the program PRO rewritten in perfect SuperBASIC (without any GOTO or GOSUB).

In the program "starmouse_boot" have been changed all "mdv" for "win". In the program "starmouse_pro_new" have been changed every "mdv" for "win" except in the use of FORMAT (Uuff, could erase the hard drive by mistake!).

Chr$ wrote:(vanpeebles, may as well merge this with this if you feel like it viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3061&p=30341&hilit=starmouse#p30341)


Good idea


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 2386
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: The Investronica Starmouse from Spain

Postby vanpeebles » Wed Jan 15, 2020 8:01 am

Done :)


User avatar
badaman
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:18 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: The Investronica Starmouse from Spain

Postby badaman » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:53 pm

More info about StarMouse Pro (in spanish)

The new StarMouse


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: The Investronica Starmouse from Spain

Postby RWAP » Mon Jan 20, 2020 9:07 pm

Thanks for the information - did Investronica produce anything else for the QL?

I certainly don't remember seeing this advertised in the QL magazines back in the day - I fear that a lot of the international stuff has been lost over the years, where the UK QL'ers were not aware of it.


User avatar
badaman
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:18 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: The Investronica Starmouse from Spain

Postby badaman » Thu Jan 23, 2020 10:29 am

RWAP wrote:Thanks for the information - did Investronica produce anything else for the QL?

I certainly don't remember seeing this advertised in the QL magazines back in the day - I fear that a lot of the international stuff has been lost over the years, where the UK QL'ers were not aware of it.


I don't remember Ivestrónica doing any other hardware development specifically for the QL. Obviously, of course, they were in charge of the QL Spanish version, with the MGE ROM. They also had an important role in the development of spectrum 128 (which was sold in Spain with an external numeric keypad),and they developed a clone called Inves Spectrum+.

This is a link in Spanish with information about Investrónica.

There were software developments from other companies, but I don't remember if other Spanish manufacturers developed hardware for the QL.

I don't remember that an announcement about StarMouse has been published in QL World, but in other international magazines in the world Sinclair, for example innumber 56 of Sinclair User Magazine (p.30 and p.55 SAGA StarMouse?). Starmouse had a very short life in the QL and in other systems for which it was also manufactured.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests