QL & PC Joysticks

A place to discuss general QL issues.
stevepoole
Trump Card
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:03 pm

Re: QL & PC Joysticks

Postby stevepoole » Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:06 pm

Hi per,

I just tested the keyrow(0) option, which failed, as reported. ( I am using QPC2 at present).

However the 'REPeat lp' code you suggested works perfectly...
Many thanks indeed !

So now I shall get on to finalising the game, which has become far more comfortable to play.
(I might rewrite some of the flying controls, for greater manoeuvrability too).

Regards,
Steve.


User avatar
pjw
Gold Card
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 8:44 am
Location: Norway

Re: QL & PC Joysticks

Postby pjw » Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:25 am

stevepoole wrote:Hi per,

I just tested the keyrow(0) option, which failed, as reported. ( I am using QPC2 at present).

It should still work on a real QL. Would be interesting to know where it fails. I just tried the following on
Q-emulator with JS and with Minerva 1.98 (Adjust the loop count according to the speed of your
system):

Code: Select all

100 CLS: PRINT 'Press some keys while loop runs..'
110 FOR i = 0 TO 999
120 AT 1, 0: PRINT i,
130 END FOR i
140 :
150 PRINT\ 'Now press any key',
160 k = KEYROW(0)
170 REMark REPeat lp: IF INKEY$(#0; 0) = "": EXIT lp: END IF: END REPeat lp
180 PRINT INKEY$(#0; -1)

and it worked as expected. However, only the line 170 version worked on QPC2. Still, Im not convinced it
has to do with SMSQ/E, as Im sure I used it with similar code on Atari+SMSQ/E back in 2006.
However the 'REPeat lp' code you suggested works perfectly...
Many thanks indeed !

It may not work equally well across the board, eg on a Q68.. Perhaps someone could try and report back?

So now I shall get on to finalising the game, which has become far more comfortable to play.
(I might rewrite some of the flying controls, for greater manoeuvrability too).

Good luck with that :)


Per
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.
- H. L. Mencken
User avatar
mk79
Trump Card
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:54 am

Re: QL & PC Joysticks

Postby mk79 » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:50 pm

pjw wrote:I had this problem years ago and wrote a small toolkit to solve it. Then I discovered that a dummy keyrow call before the inkey$ does the same. Are you saying this doesnt work for you?
QDOS does this, Minerva does this, but apparently SMSQ/E has never done this. Not sure if by choice or by accident, though I guess it's the latter.

Marcel


stevepoole
Trump Card
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:03 pm

Re: QL & PC Joysticks

Postby stevepoole » Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:46 pm

Hi,
My troubles are over.
Here is where to look on the web for a cable converter for a QL Joystick :

UGREEN Câble Série USB avec Chip PL2303 Câble USB 2.0 vers RS232 DB9 Mâle à Mâle

Regards,
Steve.


User avatar
QLvsJAGUAR
Gold Card
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:42 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: QL & PC Joysticks

Postby QLvsJAGUAR » Sat Sep 01, 2018 3:28 pm

stevepoole wrote:Capture d’écran (59).png
This is my first attempt to load a screenshot...

Looks good and promising. Please keep us updated.


http://www.sinclairql.net/ - Go and get THE DISTRIBUTION & QL/E!
http://www.youtube.com/QLvsJAGUAR
https://plus.google.com/+QLvsJAGUAR
Sinclair, QL, ATARI, JAGUAR, NUON, APPLE & more
Videos, pictures & information
stevepoole
Trump Card
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:03 pm

Re: QL & PC Joysticks

Postby stevepoole » Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:35 am

Hi Urs,
As it stands, the game is playable, but I am hoping to improve it, so that instead of flying 'around' the scenery, you can fly 'through' it.
If you would like a preview, PM me your email address, and I will send it to you to get your opinion of it.
The 'fly through' option will not be easy to implement... as it will require so many 'off-screen' checks, that the program will be slugged !
(As I said previously, this was just an exercise to test out some revised 3D core routines).

Regards,
Steve.


stevepoole
Trump Card
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:03 pm

Re: QL & PC Joysticks

Postby stevepoole » Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:47 am

Hi Folks,
I bought an 8$ USB-adapter cable for my QL Joystick, but my W 8.1 laptop turned it off after a second.
So I tried it on my XP PC and it stayed turned on, but with no button responses, (and no internet connection available).
Back on the laptop, I downloaded JOYtoKEY software, and plugged in rhe stick.
Yes ! I ws able to reconfigure all the stick buttons at will.
And now it works fine with my QL programs, and can be reconfigured for each.
A very good program, this JOYtoKEY...
Thanks to all of you for your advice !
Steve Poole.



Return to “General QL Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest