Aurora somewhere?

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
Paul
Gold Card
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 8:50 am

Aurora somewhere?

Postby Paul » Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:13 am

I have heard an aurora board would exist but I never saw any.
Does anybody own one? Would it be possible to meet someone owning an aurora board?
How many were produced?
I would really like to test my QL-SD in combination with aurora.
Who designed/made it?
Is it possible to obtain an aurora board in working condition or even a broken one?
Who owns the rights to it? Can a new batch be made? Or a retrofit of the aurora boards?
Kind regards
Paul


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 2069
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Aurora somewhere?

Postby vanpeebles » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:08 am

I like these kind of questions :) I'd love one too!


Paul
Gold Card
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 8:50 am

Re: Aurora somewhere?

Postby Paul » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:26 am

I saw Nasta designed it.
Do you still have the design files? Would you allow a new batch?
Kind regards
Paul


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Aurora somewhere?

Postby Derek_Stewart » Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:57 pm

Hi Paul,

The Aurora is a replacement for the QL motherboard, usually needs a Gold Card or Super Gold Card.

Is the QL-SD compatiabile with the Super/Gold Card?

I have a faulty Aurora board I will see about getting into working order.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1585
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Aurora somewhere?

Postby tofro » Thu Nov 27, 2014 4:03 pm

Derek_Stewart wrote:Is the QL-SD compatiabile with the Super/Gold Card?


Hi Derek,

it's definitively not compatible with a QL that is extended with a GC/SGC.

I positively think that Paul is looking to check whether it would work with a GC/SGC + Aurora configuration ;)

We have learned that GC and SGC induce a lot of noise into the QL - This might be different with Aurora.

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2411
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Aurora somewhere?

Postby Dave » Thu Nov 27, 2014 5:44 pm

There are 20-odd incomplete Auroras. They are with Nasta.

The plan is to send them to me. I would complete them with missing parts, (or make kits as has been requested) and ship them out.

Unfortunately with Sandy's problems, and Nasta has time issues of his own, it just hasn't happened yet.

I think it'll happen when SuperRAM is out.


QLObi
ROM Dongle
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:15 pm
Location: Germany Köln

Re: Aurora somewhere?

Postby QLObi » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:08 am

Is a circuit drawing available from the Aurora board?
Just for a new retrofit project !

Qlobi


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Aurora somewhere?

Postby Derek_Stewart » Sat Nov 29, 2014 1:43 pm

Hi,

The Schematic is available on Google Groups: QL Hardware

I have emailed it to you, as I can not seem to attach the file to a PM here.


Regards,

Derek
FrancoisLanciault
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:08 pm

Re: Aurora somewhere?

Postby FrancoisLanciault » Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:20 pm

Hi Paul,

I have a fully working Aurora motherboard. A SuperGoldCard is attached to it. This is in fact my main QL setup (I don't do emulators...) I also have another standard QL with Gold Card.

Let me know if I can run some tests for you. I am in Canada.

Regards,

François


User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2411
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Aurora somewhere?

Postby Dave » Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:31 pm

The Aurora were shipped to me last week and should be here soon.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests