Wanderer and SuperGoldCard

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
User avatar
Cristian
Super Gold Card
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:40 pm
Location: Veneto

Wanderer and SuperGoldCard

Postby Cristian » Thu May 16, 2019 1:12 pm

It seems impossible to run Wanderer (full version, original) with SuperGoldCard. Is this normal or should I change some settings?
Thanks


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2644
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Wanderer and SuperGoldCard

Postby RWAP » Thu May 16, 2019 4:46 pm

You could try RES_!28

Unfortunately Wanderer has to be loaded at a fixed memory address. With expanded memory it can be hit and miss as to whether that address is available.

The boot file should look like:

Code: Select all

10 PAPER 0:WINDOW 512,256,0,0:MODE 8
20 a=RESPR(RESPR(0)-196608)
30 LBYTES flp1_WANDERER_PIC,131072
32 pause 200
35 LBYTES flp1_WANDERER,196608
40 FOR N=1 TO 2500:NEXT N
160 CLS:CALL 196608


RESPR probably will never grab enough memory - what i have done in the past is to add a small loop such as

Code: Select all

20 a=ALCHP(1024): IF a> 196608: GOTO 20


If that gives an error, try RESPR, but ALCHP tends to work better on expanded memory!


User avatar
Cristian
Super Gold Card
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:40 pm
Location: Veneto

Re: Wanderer and SuperGoldCard

Postby Cristian » Thu May 16, 2019 10:17 pm

Thanks Rich for your suggestion, but unfortunately it doesn't work.
With JM ROM + SGC the QL freezes. With Minerva I got some "out of memory" error.
Anyway, thank you very much for your attempt.


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2644
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Wanderer and SuperGoldCard

Postby RWAP » Fri May 17, 2019 11:39 am

Cristian wrote:Thanks Rich for your suggestion, but unfortunately it doesn't work.
With JM ROM + SGC the QL freezes. With Minerva I got some "out of memory" error.
Anyway, thank you very much for your attempt.


If the QL freezes - that suggests the program is writing to a ROM location. I seem to recall (without looking) that there is a command on the SGC to protect the ROM (as the QL ROM is actually copied into RAM on the Gold Card / Super Gold Card)



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests