BionicPup Linux Installing packages

Tell us about your other hobbies & none QL related items here :)
Chr$
QL Wafer Drive

BionicPup Linux Installing packages

Post by Chr$ »

I'm a total noob to anything that isn't DOS/Windows (or QL)!

To give an old Eee PC a new lease of life I recently setup BionicPup Linux on it. It seems mostly intuitive, easy to get online and it's obvious how many things are done.

But I'm stuck with something which is probably really basic, too basic even for googling as that doesn't help. I want to download disk .img files (e.g. 360k/1.2mb DOS disks) and then copy the contents (just the files) onto external storage.

I've found the 'Package Manager' which seems to be where you go to install extra programs, like apps, but called packages. Apparently 7zip is able to open .img files so I installed that. For good measure I also installed mtools (tools for manipulating MSDOS files). When I select the Uninstall option both are shown there, so it seems to have worked.

But I can't find them anywhere! Where does it put newly installed packages? Is there something else I have to do first?

https://QXL.WIN
Collector of QL related computers, accessories and QL games/software.
Ask me about felt pads - I can cut them to size and they have proved excellent for mdv data recovery.
Sparrowhawk
Super Gold Card

Re: BionicPup Linux Installing packages

Post by Sparrowhawk »

I've never used a PuppyLinux derivative (which I am assuming this is?)

AFAIK, Linux packages tend to get installed into /usr/local and then symbolic links (aliases) for things like binaries and config files are placed in eg /usr/bin and /etc

But from my limited experience of Linux, this varies a bit from Linux to Linux, and also depending on which packaging manager you use (apt, yum, synaptics, flatpak, snap, etc)