Welcome to the QL Forum!

Introduce yourself here!
User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1629
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Wales
Contact:

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby dilwyn » Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:43 pm

qxl-kumbah wrote:I think I'll go add my 2 cents worth in the regular area, but this board is quite cool.
Thanks for all the helpful posts! :mrgreen:
Ya know, I kinda like how my avatar ended up.

Welcome along!


Dilwyn
All things QL: see www.dilwyn.me.uk
User avatar
qxl-kumbah
ROM Dongle
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:56 pm
Location: Waltham, MA

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby qxl-kumbah » Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:50 pm

Hiya Dylwin,

I've also been posting my "happy moments" on Facebook ... :)


* qxl-kumbah *
"TS-1000, Eighty-One,TS-2068, Spectrum Anywhere, QXL, QLay, and Qemulator on board"
User avatar
Mr_Navigator
QL Fanatic
Posts: 782
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:17 pm
Location: UK, Essex
Contact:

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby Mr_Navigator » Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:10 pm

robineattell wrote:I have been reactivated after a number of years , thanks admin.
I found that my CST Thor 1 not working after storage so I am trying to get it going...never give up . I got a QL off eBay to help .
WRAP should have it soon have it for testing / repair .
I loved the QL for Superbasic but the 128k was too small so I bought the Thor . I used the Thor for small business for about 5 years . Now semi retired I have more time for play.

Can anyone let me know what memory chip the Thor used ? Chip notation : NEC 8616 KU001 D4 1257c- 15 or what would be a suitable replacement ? Also the timer crystal is corroded and I can't read the notation , I assume a 8 M Hz may do the job, am I right ?

Good on you mates !
From Oz


Hi Robineattell, did you ever get the answers to your questions?


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
QLick here for the Back 2 the QL Blog http://backtotheql.blogspot.co.uk/
User avatar
Cristian
Super Gold Card
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:40 pm
Location: Veneto

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby Cristian » Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:55 pm

Mr_Navigator wrote:Some people have said to me that I look a little like him, however the avatars I normally use are Star Wars related, being a huge fan.


May the Force be with you! :mrgreen:


asapreta
ROM Dongle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 2:27 pm

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby asapreta » Fri Apr 19, 2019 3:44 pm

Even without being a member, found a lot of useful posts and information!!!

Nice place!


vandenf
ROM Dongle
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 10:55 am

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby vandenf » Tue Dec 17, 2019 4:21 pm

Hi everybody, I'm Francis from Belgium, owner of several ZX spectrums and QL's since the eighties.
Two years ago, I discovered again using and playing with my old speccies and QL. Suprised that they almost all worked, not 100 %, but enough to start exploring again.

Managed recently to use my QL with an actual television from LG, the LG19LD320, suppose it is a Led one.
Bought a scart (tv) to RGB cable (QL), and all works well in both monitor and tv mode.
But there is the famous problem in monitor mode, in wich the first 3 characters are lost in space.
I searched for a solution and probably found it in using an upscale converter from scart to hdmi, so I bought one recently.
It is a little box with scart (in) and hdmi (out) to the TV.

But it doesn't work at it should be.
Result is a white screen on which I can see barely the F1-F2 choice.
I can type in the keywords but I almost don't see them on screen.

Can anyone help me with this problem. Is my upscaler converter (scart-hdmi) not connected well ?
Is it a problem with my TV. I tried everything on settings with it ?

BLANK WHITE SCREEN, thats all.

Thnks already.


User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 2321
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby vanpeebles » Wed Dec 18, 2019 8:37 am

Welcome to the forum! :D


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1795
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby Derek_Stewart » Wed Dec 18, 2019 10:40 am

vandenf wrote:I searched for a solution and probably found it in using an upscale converter from scart to hdmi, so I bought one recently.
It is a little box with scart (in) and hdmi (out) to the TV.

But it doesn't work at it should be.
Result is a white screen on which I can see barely the F1-F2 choice.
I can type in the keywords but I almost don't see them on screen.

Can anyone help me with this problem. Is my upscaler converter (scart-hdmi) not connected well ?
Is it a problem with my TV. I tried everything on settings with it ?

BLANK WHITE SCREEN, thats all.

Thnks already.

Hi Francis,

I tried at least 5 different SCART-HDMI converters which 1 did not work, the others had characters missing from either right or left side.

So I sent them back and use a Gamma GBS8320 RGB to VGA works converter better.

The Scart lead works perfectly...


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
mk79
Super Gold Card
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:54 am
Location: Esslingen/Germany
Contact:

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby mk79 » Wed Dec 18, 2019 3:59 pm

I tried three different converters and none worked too well for me. Unlike yours they always produced a picture, just either not stable or some pixels were cut off. And then there was one converted that worked fine for another QL users but didn't work at all with my monitor... in the end I've designed my own converter and eventually I might sell some of those, but at the moment I'm still prototyping.


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1932
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Welcome to the QL Forum!

Postby tofro » Wed Dec 18, 2019 4:07 pm

"No picture at all" could could also mean the SCART cable is wired as "Composite-to-SCART". HDMI scalers normally don't like that.

It could, however, also mean your TV doesn't like the scaler. Is the OSD of the scaler displayed on screen when you press the buttons on the scaler?

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest