Page 1 of 2

Assembler for the ql

Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:14 pm
by jdavis6809
hello,

looking foe assembler with paper manual like talent, qjump etc

regards

john davis uk

Re: Assembler for the ql

Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:28 pm
by Silvester
Have a look at Talents Assembler Workbench http://www.dilwyn.me.uk/asm/talentaw22.zip

Re: Assembler for the ql

Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:32 pm
by RWAP
I seem to think that I have some of the original Talent Assembler Workbench's here - but don't think they came with a printed manual.....

Re: Assembler for the ql

Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:38 pm
by Silvester
The manual was available from within the program as a Help file. But the zip file (link above) contains a separate printable version of the manual.

Re: Assembler for the ql

Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:56 pm
by tofro
By far the best and most professional assembler for the QL in my opinion is the GST/Quanta Macro assembler, closely followed by George Gwilt's GWAss (Which needs a CPU >= 68020 to work, so you should have an SGC, QPC, or Q40, for example)

It comes with an extensive manual, editor and linker.

Tobias

Re: Assembler for the ql

Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 10:26 pm
by NormanDunbar
If you don't have a 68020, real or emulated, George's GWASL is an excellent assembler. It's the one I used for many years when writing my assembler articles in QL Today. It even comes with its own source code.

http://gwiltprogs.info/page2.htm

Highly recommended.


Cheers,
Norm.

Re: Assembler for the ql

Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:31 pm
by Derek_Stewart
Hi,

I agree, GWASS(L) are good assemblers.

I use the GWASSL on the Q68, which well under SMSQ/E.

The only problem I have is that GWASSL or GWASS does not accept command line parameters.

If this was available, QD could be used to edit the assembley file and using a configured QDASM thing to complete compilation.

But alas, this is not available, or have I missed something.

Re: Assembler for the ql

Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2019 8:30 pm
by NormanDunbar
Hi Derek,

for GWASS (mine is GWASS60_bin), try this:

Code: Select all

exec win1_gwass60_bin;'A/n/file1_asm/file2_asm/.../filen_asm"


GWASS will assemble all 'n'; files and kill itself at the end. You can also pass other parameters - see gwass_text for details, General Note 8 has the details.

HTH

Cheers,
Norm.

Re: Assembler for the ql

Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2019 9:48 pm
by Derek_Stewart
NormanDunbar wrote:Hi Derek,

for GWASS (mine is GWASS60_bin), try this:

Code: Select all

exec win1_gwass60_bin;'A/n/file1_asm/file2_asm/.../filen_asm"


GWASS will assemble all 'n'; files and kill itself at the end. You can also pass other parameters - see gwass_text for details, General Note 8 has the details.

HTH

Cheers,
Norm.

Hi Norm,

Thank you for the information.

I have read the manual again and seen the details.

I must admit like using GWASS.

I will see if I can configure QDASM Thing to use GWASS, it will have to be GWASSL on the Q68.

Re: Assembler for the ql

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:29 am
by Derek_Stewart
Hi,

I tried the command line parameters in QPC2 with GWASS60_BIN, opening a console channel to say #3, I did:

EW gwass060_bin,#3;'/A/1/win1_tables_asm'

Which assembled a simple multiplication table display assembley programme I wrote in 1990s, of up to Word length numbers, to channel #3. This all work great.

I tried to configure QD, which required the QDASM_REXT file to point to the assembler programme, this done with Menuconfig.

I entered the location of gwass060_bin, with /A/1/ in the command line options.

Saved the QDASM_rext file and loaded the extenstions.

Loaded the QDASM Thing file, this uses the Thing: QDASM defined in the QDASM_REXT file to load the assembler.

Now, load QD with EX qd;'\t QDASM'

Which loads QD with the F10 QDASM Thing pointing to GWASS060_BIN

I loaded in my assembly programme and pressed F10, which QD did load GWASS060_BIN, but could not find the file name, as it was not passed to GWASS060_BIN from QD.

Nearly working, just a little reading of the QD5 Thing mechanism is required.

GWASSL_BIN v2.05 for 68K QLs, does not seem to support the command line parameters.