Writing Gotek QL Image Disks

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
spkr
Bent Pin Expansion Port

Writing Gotek QL Image Disks

Post by spkr »

Hi there guys,

With some great help with people from the forum, I was able to get a gotek hooped up with the tetroid disk interface and load a disk image on the QL! So awesome, yet I was so busy that I have not been able yet to explore the programs library for the QL.

Instead I have the following question regarding making disk images; and Im thinking aloud here...

I am looking to be able to generate a .img file directly from my build script. So when I assemble my source, it creates a binary and I would like to wrap that binary inside a .img file; such that I could put that directly to the USB and use it with the gotek.

Considering Im a novice here, I was wondering if anyone has an idea how to approach this. So far I have found https://soulsphere.org/hacks/ql/fs.html and I suppose I need to figure out how the .img format is for the flash floppy software. Considering the size of the disk images, which is close (or equal?) to the DD-disk-size, I assume that its the binary data with some possible headers...

Anyone that looked into this, or got some ideas?

Kind regards,
Wietze

Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge

Re: Writing Gotek QL Image Disks

Post by Derek_Stewart »

Hi,

I tend to use a QL emulator QPC2 or SMSQmulator and use FDI for floppy disk images and MDI for MIcrodrive images, by Martin Head.

The FDI floppy disk images are fairly standard and be used all on QL emulators, or other QL hardware with FDI installed.

The scripting part of the Floppy DIsk images with FDIis used in S*Basic, so that's easy as we can all programme in basic...