Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby Chr$ » Wed May 27, 2020 4:56 pm

NormanDunbar wrote:Without wishing to detract from Jan's Hardback program, my old WinBack utility - available from Dilwyn's excellent site - has a utility to scan the hard drive for directories and will create a small SuperBASIC program you can run prior to restoring, to recreate the full directory tree. This is useful for two reasons:

* Simplicity - it saves time typing in lots and lots of MAKE_DIR commands;
* Efficiency - it's better to pre-create the directories before importing the files otherwise all the files get put in the root directory, which becomes large, then get moved to the various sub-directories leaving the root massively fragmented and full of holes, in a manner resembling a Swiss Cheese!

I've attached the file somewhere around here, in case it's useful. I don't think it needs any assembly extensions. It has been compressed on Linux, so no QL headers will be present, but it's a non-executable anyway. I had to zip it as the forum doesn't like files with _bas, .bas or .txt as an extension.


Directory_bas.zip


Cheers,
Norm.

Am currently using your WinBack Norman. I did the directory creation thing first - it tripped up on the syntax of the 'WHEN_ERROR 0', I had to change that to 'WHEN ERROR' without the underscore. And then of course I had to change the resultant _bas file a little, but just to suit where I want the directories to be made (the default is win1_). I had forgotten that I'd already manually created one of the directories and it failed when it got to that one. Luckily it wasn't all that far into it, so I was able to just rem out the DATA lines of the ones that it had already created and then start again.

And it's running though backing up everything to DEV1_ now (which is a sub dir on the QXLII machine). Marvellous.


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 3x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
RalfR
Gold Card
Posts: 412
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby RalfR » Wed May 27, 2020 5:00 pm

Chr$ wrote:it tripped up on the syntax of the 'WHEN_ERROR 0', I had to change that to 'WHEN ERROR' without the underscore.


Opps, Norm has used Turbo :D . I remember, he did a change in the program because of my two harddisks on Atari :mrgreen: .


User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby Chr$ » Wed May 27, 2020 5:36 pm

Hmmm, had an error, it fact it's happened twice now. It is reporting that 'Archive Disc has been removed from DEV1_ !!' and asking me to put it back in and press enter. I didn't do anything. Has the QNET locked up? When I try to dir the BBQL from the QXLII is says 'is in use'. In fact when I CTL+C out of the backup prog back to SuperBASIC and dir the local BBQL Win1_ it also says it's in progress.

How do I restart FSERVE, is that possible without resetting?


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 3x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1964
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby tofro » Wed May 27, 2020 5:58 pm

Chr$ wrote:How do I restart FSERVE, is that possible without resetting?


Yes. Do an

Code: Select all

RJOB "Server"
FSERVE

You will, however, loose any data FSERVE might still have in its buffers.

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby Chr$ » Wed May 27, 2020 6:07 pm

Thanks.
No, that didn't work, still 'in use' when I dir the BBQL from the QXLII. It's seems to be all in a pickle now.

Edit: I can dir the mdv1_ on the BBQL from the QXLII. It just seems to be the win1_ that's locked up.


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 3x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby Chr$ » Wed May 27, 2020 7:57 pm

Also just noticed that it had started to back things up with prefix dev1_ (prefix, not a proper directory) on the local BBQL win1_. Strange.


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 3x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1088
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby NormanDunbar » Wed May 27, 2020 9:33 pm

Evening all.

Sorry I'm late, been watching a reocket not getting launched.

WinBack needs the Turbo Toolkit, check the boot file for details. It does backup over the net as I remember being asked to do it. I used to do something like flp_use n2_win1_, or similar, then backup to flp1_. I think!

I'm puzzled as to why it's backing up to win1_dev1_, I assume that it has possibly lost its mind? Does dev_use$ print anything for dev1_?

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Arduino-Softwa ... 1484257898, https://www.apress.com/gb/book/9781484257890
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby Chr$ » Wed May 27, 2020 10:18 pm

Can't check at the moment but it looks like when win1_ locked up, for whatever reason, it may have got confused and started putting things on the win1_dev1_, or the other way round and that caused the lock up. They certainly seem related though. Strange. It's not the end of the world, I'm backing up in chunks. The dir creator thing you provided has saved a massive amount of MAKE_DIRs.


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 3x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1835
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby Derek_Stewart » Thu May 28, 2020 9:00 am

HI,

I have always had problems with the DEV device, so why no try using the NFS_USE statement in Toolkit 2:

NFS_USE WIN,n1_win1_,n1_win2_

Where WIN1_ will access the QXL WIN1 device and WIN2_ access the QXL WIN2_ and so forth.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1088
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Quick q for Jan re: Hardback

Postby NormanDunbar » Thu May 28, 2020 10:04 am

Morning Chr$,

Chr$ wrote:Can't check at the moment but it looks like when win1_ locked up, for whatever reason, it may have got confused and started putting things on the win1_dev1_, or the other way round and that caused the lock up. They certainly seem related though. Strange. It's not the end of the world, I'm backing up in chunks. The dir creator thing you provided has saved a massive amount of MAKE_DIRs.


The idea behind the directory creator was more intended when restoring to a blank WIN drive. Create all the directories first, then restor. Saves the Swiss Cheese effect on the root directory. The backups were intended to be on floppies or similar (even RAM!!!) and thus didn't really need the directory structure. However, when backing up to another WIN drive, it does make sense.

I had a quick look in my updates_doc file and found the following:

Code: Select all

NETWORKS

WinBack is quite capable of backing up over a network but only if Toolkit 2 is present on both machines. Please follow the following rules :


1. The program must be run on the QL which is fitted with the hard disc.

2. Before running WinBack, add the following lines to the appropriate boot file for your system :

FSERVE
NET 1
NFS_USE FDK, N2_FLP1_, N2_FLP2_

these lines should be put just before the EXEC statement for WinBack_exe.

3. On the QL with the floppy discs, type the following lines :

FSERVE
NET 2

4. Now run WinBack and use an output device of FDK1_ or FDK2_ as desired, stick your blank discs in the appropriate drive on the N2 machine.


The above methods have been tested on a JS QL with a version 2.28 Gold Card and Miracle Hard Disc linked over the net to a JS QL fitted with a version 1.28 Trump Card (early model) and ordinary 720K double drives. The copying process worked ok.

I don't think that the FSERVE is required on the NET 1 QL but it does work.

You do need the NFS_USE statement as the program requires a 5 character long device name for the output device in the form 'dddn_' and this is because the program reads from 'win1_' which is 5 characters long, so writing to a 5 character device is allowed regardless of the length of the file name. If a longer device name was allowed, then every time an output filename was created, the program would have to check to ensure a valid length (less than or equal to 41 characters). Using a 5 character device avoids the need for this check.


HTH

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Arduino-Softwa ... 1484257898, https://www.apress.com/gb/book/9781484257890

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests