VDrive help...

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
User avatar
genetika
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Rome, ITALY
Contact:

VDrive help...

Postby genetika » Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:56 am

Hi.
I’m using a QL with Minerva, SGC, SuperHermes And VDrive without Vmap.
I ported psion software on vDrive, modified boot, but it doesn’t start ...
i ported the modified version off psion chess, but it doesn’t start...
All the above files start regularly from FLP1.

Is it an hardware problem ( superhermes conflict )?

Any suggestion is really appreciated...

Regards,
Max


retro_collector
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:26 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: VDrive help...

Postby retro_collector » Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:24 pm

Hi Max,

I was able to duplicate your problem. I have tetrodes ROM switcher and I switched in JS ROM and Minerva and Archive would start to load and stop.

I then turned off Minerva and have just JS ROM and toolkit II and the PSION apps boot Vdrive

Bill


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2625
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: VDrive help...

Postby RWAP » Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:07 pm

Very odd - not sure why Minerva would affect this (although from memory it has re-written microdrive access routines).

One thing you possibly have overlooked is whether the help files will load - you would have to edit the executable files directly to change flp1_ (or mdv1_) to mdv3_ for the help files...


retro_collector
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:26 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: VDrive help...

Postby retro_collector » Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:30 pm

Help files will load only if you have VMAP, once the VDrive is mapped as MDV1_ with VMAP 3, and the Vdrive now being MDV1_ then the help files will load.

With the boot file modified for MDV3_ its not enough, the app looks to MDV1_ for the help files.



Bill


User avatar
genetika
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Rome, ITALY
Contact:

Re: VDrive help...

Postby genetika » Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:19 am

retro_collector wrote:Hi Max,

I was able to duplicate your problem. I have tetrodes ROM switcher and I switched in JS ROM and Minerva and Archive would start to load and stop.

I then turned off Minerva and have just JS ROM and toolkit II and the PSION apps boot Vdrive

Bill



Thanks!!
I have the Minerva ROM inside QL. . .
Maybe the solution is to upgrade to TETROIDS ROM Switcher , or a new FLASH update on VDRIVE.

Thank you for being able to reproduce the problem. :-)

Max


User avatar
genetika
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Rome, ITALY
Contact:

Re: VDrive help...

Postby genetika » Sat Sep 07, 2019 8:04 am

retro_collector wrote:Hi Max,

I was able to duplicate your problem. I have tetrodes ROM switcher and I switched in JS ROM and Minerva and Archive would start to load and stop.

I then turned off Minerva and have just JS ROM and toolkit II and the PSION apps boot Vdrive

Bill


Hi Bill.
Do you think that VMAP Could solve this issue?
Or is it a ROM problem ?
Thanks !
Massimino


retro_collector
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:26 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: VDrive help...

Postby retro_collector » Sat Sep 07, 2019 3:41 pm

Hi Max,

It appears to be a ROM problem. I am using Tetroid's ROM swicther. When I switch in Minerva Psion apps don't work. Use just JS ROMS it works. You could also use VMAP as the PSION apps look for MDV1_ and MDV2_.

I am using ARCHIVE and it boots from MDV1 and writes data to MDV2 automatically.

Bill



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests