PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
tschak909
ROM Dongle
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:00 am

PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Postby tschak909 » Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:24 pm

For those crazy enough to test, here is a smoke test release of PLATOTERM for the Sinclair QL, version 0.1.

It is still very much under construction, but if you have real hardware, and a wifi modem connected to your SER1, please test, and let me know how it goes, file an issue, etc.

I have a binary there, and a floppy image. the XTCC header is there in case you need to patch your executable metadata.

https://github.com/tschak909/platotermq ... SMOKE-TEST

-Thom


FrancoisLanciault
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:08 pm

Re: PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Postby FrancoisLanciault » Sun Jul 14, 2019 5:08 pm

Hi,

Is there a way to test PLATOTERM without a wifi modem ? Maybe like connecting the QL serial port to another computer with internet access ? I am afraid the number of QL users that own a wifi modem is very low...

Francois


User avatar
dex
Trump Card
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 1:40 pm

Re: PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Postby dex » Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:42 pm

connecting the QL serial port to another computer with internet access ?


http://www.linuxcertif.com/man/1/tcpser/en/
TCPser on Linux computer or raspberry.

I also had experiment with new modem, based on ARM board instead on ESP8266 (targeted to Atari ST, Acorn and possibly QL), but not tested on QL yet.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_jZQprwKeg
The intention was to buid it cheaper than WiModem, but thanks to Simulant modem https://www.simulant.uk/shop/retro-vintage-computer-wifi-modem-rs232-serial-hayes-compatible the price dropped.
(Yes, you can buy one Simulant!)


tschak909
ROM Dongle
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:00 am

Re: PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Postby tschak909 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:33 am

Yes, I have a fork of tcpser that fixes a telnet IAC issue:
https://github.com/tschak909/tcpser

and I run it with:

Code: Select all

tcpser -d /dev/ttyS1 -s 9600 -i "&K3"


&K3 enables RTS/CTS handshaking, which you REALLY WANT.

-Thom


User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Postby Outsoft » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:40 pm

tschak909 wrote:For those crazy enough to test, here is a smoke test release of PLATOTERM for the Sinclair QL, version 0.1.

It is still very much under construction, but if you have real hardware, and a wifi modem connected to your SER1, please test, and let me know how it goes, file an issue, etc.

I have a binary there, and a floppy image. the XTCC header is there in case you need to patch your executable metadata.

https://github.com/tschak909/platotermq ... SMOKE-TEST

-Thom


I absolutely want to test, great job!!!


afx
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:23 pm

Re: PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Postby afx » Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:34 pm

tschak909 wrote:It is still very much under construction, but if you have real hardware, and a wifi modem connected to your SER1, please test, and let me know how it goes, file an issue, etc.

Hi Thom,

How can I configure platoterm to SER2? (I don't have cable adapted to SER1).


tschak909
ROM Dongle
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:00 am

Re: PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Postby tschak909 » Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:23 am

It is currently hard-configured for SER1 (this is a smoke test build), if you want SER2, you'll need to change and compile (it builds with XTC68)

I don't understand, from what I see, ser1 and ser2 literally are two of the same connector?

-Thom


User avatar
dex
Trump Card
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 1:40 pm

Re: PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Postby dex » Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:44 am

tschak909 wrote:II don't understand, from what I see, ser1 and ser2 literally are two of the same connector?


But the wiring is different. One is DCE and one is DTE.


tschak909
ROM Dongle
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:00 am

Re: PLATOTERM 0.1 smoke test for Sinclair QL released

Postby tschak909 » Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:50 am

The difference between that shouldn't be much more than swapped RXD/TXD connections, a null modem changer would literally fix that.

So, has nobody else tested this?

sigh.

-Thom



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests