QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Andrew » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:42 pm

Plans / ideas for the future:
- make QLCommander use less memory
- make it a full PE program
- Copy and Delete recursive on subdirectories
- allow drives over QL network (this might be too slow .. )
- maybe add tree view

By the way, what cables do I need to create a QL network ? What type of connectors ? How to wire them ?


martyn_hill
Super Gold Card
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:53 am

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby martyn_hill » Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:53 pm

Hi Andrei!

Looking forward to some of the new features :-)

Meanwhile, the QNET cabling is simplicity itself. Mono (2-wire) or stereo (3-wire) cables with mono/stereo 3.5mm TRS/Jack plugs are all that is needed.

I mention stereo/3-wire, only because they work and are easier to find ready-made, but you only need the mono equivalent.

I used to make-up my own, but then found then available online for pennies, so I don't bother building my own now.

I am able to link two QLs with a 10m cable without apparent signal degradation.

M.


User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2409
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Dave » Sat Feb 23, 2019 2:29 am

Andrew wrote:By the way, what cables do I need to create a QL network ? What type of connectors ? How to wire them ?


A standard stereo 3.5mm male to male audio cable. Amazon sells nice ones for almost nothing.


Jack_Free
ROM Dongle
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 3:31 pm

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Jack_Free » Mon Feb 25, 2019 9:49 am

Very good program.
Can I ask for one treatment?
Would it be possible to boot BOOT files?
It would make it easier for me to test the functionality of the individual files I have in my adresses.
I would like to use this program as a start menu for my programs.
I would do a directory in which I would only have boot files for individual programs.


I do not use an emulator, just a real QL, excuse my English, I use google translator :-)
Sinclair QL + SGC, Sinclair QL+Qubide interface, Sinclair QL+QL-SD.
EmmBee
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:29 pm
Location: Kent

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby EmmBee » Tue Feb 26, 2019 1:04 pm

Andrew wrote:Known issue that drives me crazy (Please help with this !)
- Compiled program with QLiberator works on QL, QEmulator and QPC
- Compiled program with Turbo works only on QPC !! On QL and QEmulator it raises error "Not implemented yet"
Can anyone help with this peculiarity ?

I have managed to get this to work with Qemulator. This is how ..
All "GET" and "BGET" commands ( there are about 9 of them ) were converted into their Turbo equivalents.
I then attempted to Turbo Compile within Qemulator. There were 2 reported errors, both for the FMAKE_DIR function.
This function is not available in Qemulator QDOS, as currently there is no support for level 2 device drivers.
If one wants to make a new sub-directory, this has to be done manually in Windows.
To get around this problem, I changed the calls to "our_FMAKE_DIR(subd$)", and wrote one function to cope.
"TURBO_DUMMYF" is used as a substitution, and "DEBUG" is used to avoid the error. Here is my code ..

Code: Select all

DEFine FuNction our_FMAKE_DIR(subd$)
LOCal i, a
  i = BASIC_INDEX%("FMAKE_DIR")
  IF i > 0
    a = BASIC_ADR(i)
    IF a > 0
      IF 1/3 = 0
        POKE_L TURBO_V(TURBO_DUMMYF), a
        RETurn TURBO_DUMMYF(subd$)
      ELSE
        DEBUG 1
          RETurn FMAKE_DIR(subd$)
        DEBUG 0
      END IF
      REMark Above will return 0 if successful
    END IF
  END IF
  PRINT #0,"Sorry - No support for level 2 device drivers "
  RETurn -19 : REMark not implemented
END DEFine our_FMAKE_DIR

Note that the expression 1/3=0 identifies Turbo, since Turbo will use integer arithmetic where possible.
Details about all this can be found in the Turbo manual turbos4 - search for BASIC_ADR and TURBO_V.
The above now compiles successfuly, and will run in both QPC2 and Qemulator.
In Qemulator, it will not be possible to make a new directory, but it will not abort with an error.
If this ability is really needed, then you can LRESPR SMSQ_GOLD or LRESPR SMSQ_QEM.


Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Andrew » Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:24 pm

EmmBee wrote:I have managed to get this to work with Qemulator. This is how ..

Thank you EmmBee - very interesting solution. I will read the Tubo manual to get a better understanding of Turbo_V
But one thing seems strange - I can create subdirectories in QEmulator (but I use the drive mapped to a QXL.WIN file)


EmmBee
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:29 pm
Location: Kent

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby EmmBee » Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:39 am

Andrew wrote:
EmmBee wrote:I have managed to get this to work with Qemulator. This is how ..

Thank you EmmBee - very interesting solution. I will read the Tubo manual to get a better understanding of Turbo_V
But one thing seems strange - I can create subdirectories in QEmulator (but I use the drive mapped to a QXL.WIN file)


Perhaps I am not quite correct on this, then.
Which toolkit do you get FMAKE_DIR from, please? I do not have that function when I load QemuLator.


EmmBee
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:29 pm
Location: Kent

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby EmmBee » Wed Feb 27, 2019 5:15 pm

I found this in turbos3_txt ...

But the presence of the command "TURBO_ref" in a program to be compiled
will cause TURBO to arrange to send all simple string parameters by
reference. Since this will work only if the operating system is SMSQ/E
such compiled programs will halt immediately with the message "not
implemented" unless the first long word of system variables is "SMSQ".

The above is the reason for the "not implemented" message with QemuLator.

To avoid that, there are only a few changes that need to be made ...

DELETE the TURBO_ref

Change ... GET #ch%\head_start+14, file$
... into ... GET #ch%\head_start+14: file$ = GET$(#ch%)

... Should do the trick


Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Andrew » Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:37 pm

EmmBee wrote:DELETE the TURBO_ref

Change ... GET #ch%\head_start+14, file$
... into ... GET #ch%\head_start+14: file$ = GET$(#ch%)

... Should do the trick

Thank you !
I already modified the program ... now I face other issues.
When compiled with Turbo the program stops with COLOUR_QL ... SCR_XLIM .. not loaded
Ok, I use those functions in the code, but only if the OS is SMSQ/E. Under QDOS they never get executed.

Compiled with QLiberator - it works !

A preview of QLCommander (compiled with QLiberator) running in QPC 800x600 high colour - and on QEmulator :
Attachments
Capture2.JPG
QLC.JPG


User avatar
genetika
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Rome, ITALY
Contact:

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby genetika » Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:46 am

Hi.
Where I can download the last QL-Commander version ? :D



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests