QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2409
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Dave » Tue May 07, 2019 1:01 am

I have often had good success with Microsoft BUS mouse compatible mice.

Just replacing the 9 pin mini DIN cable with a standard 9 pin DSUB cable and the usual pinout and it would work well.

They have the traditional XA/XB, YA/YB pairs, +5v and GND, and button 1/2/3 for nine wires.

If desired, we could make the socket on the Issue 8 and SSQB a 9 pin mini DIN in MS BUS mouse pinout, for 100% compatibility with ordinary bus mice?

I can also obtain standard bus mice VERY economically.

Here's the pin out if anyone wants to experiment:

Code: Select all

Pin 1   SW2   Mouse button 2
Pin 2   SW3   Mouse button 3
Pin 3   GND   Ground
Pin 4   XB    X position
Pin 5   YA    Y position
Pin 6   YB    Y position
Pin 7   SW1   Mouse button 1
Pin 8   Vcc   +5 V Power
Pin 9   XA    X position
XA/XB and YA/YB indicate movement and direction based on quadrature phase.


EmmBee
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:29 pm
Location: Kent

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby EmmBee » Wed May 08, 2019 5:06 pm

Andrew wrote:QLCommander v2.0 is finally ready !

RENAME file issue on Qemulator running on Windows 10

Have you tried a repair?
From Cortana - Control Panel - Programs and Features.
Right-Click on Q-emuLator, Click Repair and take it from there.
If Repair does not show up, you could try to Re-install Q-emuLator instead.

Hope that helps.


User avatar
Artificer
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:43 am

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Artificer » Wed May 08, 2019 5:21 pm

Andrew wrote:
QLCommander v2.0 is finally ready !


It runs on a Q68 high colour mode as well.
QLCOM2.JPG


Just a couple of comments: the manual is provided as .pdf only this is not readable on a hardware QL system, could there be a Quill .doc version well. And two other things, the programs uses the QL_PALETTE command to change colour values for 'mode 4 colour', only problem is this is a global command so if there are other mode 4 programs their colours are changed as well and finally have you thought of adding FileInfo 2 support for file formats such .html or graphics formats not supported by the program itself.

Cheers

Artificer


Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Andrew » Wed May 08, 2019 6:16 pm

Artificer wrote:Just a couple of comments: the manual is provided as .pdf only this is not readable on a hardware QL system, could there be a Quill .doc version well. And two other things, the programs uses the QL_PALETTE command to change colour values for 'mode 4 colour', only problem is this is a global command so if there are other mode 4 programs their colours are changed as well and finally have you thought of adding FileInfo 2 support for file formats such .html or graphics formats not supported by the program itself.

Cheers

Artificer

I had no time to crate a Quill doc, but I will. No pictures in quill doc, I'm afraid
I saw that QL_PALETTE changes globak colour values for mode 4, but I had no idea how to do it differently. Can you suggest a way to change the colors only for QLC ?
I did not knew that Fileinfo exists - but I will see how it works. It should be possible to execute it from QLC, with the file name as parameter. Where can I download Fileinfo 2 ?


Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Andrew » Wed May 08, 2019 6:21 pm

EmmBee wrote:Have you tried a repair?
From Cortana - Control Panel - Programs and Features.
Right-Click on Q-emuLator, Click Repair and take it from there.
If Repair does not show up, you could try to Re-install Q-emuLator instead.

Hope that helps.

I reinstalled QEmulator - but Rename still not works.
I believe it is a side-effect of the last Win 10 update applied - before the update it was working


User avatar
Artificer
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:43 am

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Artificer » Wed May 08, 2019 8:08 pm

Andrew wrote
No pictures in quill doc, I'm afraid
I saw that QL_PALETTE changes globak colour values for mode 4, but I had no idea how to do it differently. Can you suggest a way to change the colors only for QLC ?
I did not knew that Fileinfo exists - but I will see how it works. It should be possible to execute it from QLC, with the file name as parameter. Where can I download Fileinfo 2 ?


Great if you could find time for a Quill doc. You can get FileInfo2 from herehttp://www.dilwyn.me.uk/utils/fi2v3e50.zip on Dilwin Jones download pages. As for changing the colours for "mode 4", obviously if smsq/e is configured for mode 4 then only mode 4 colours should be seen. If QLCommander is to run in mode 4 colours while running on a system configured to use GD2 colours the mode 4 colours are in the standard PAL palette, colour number #0 = black, #1= white,#2=red,#3=green.

Cheers

Artificer


Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Andrew » Sat May 11, 2019 9:17 pm

Artificer wrote:Great if you could find time for a Quill doc.

Cheers

Artificer


QLCommander User Manual in Quill format:
Attachments
QLCommanderUserManual_doc.zip
(9.65 KiB) Downloaded 22 times


otis
ROM Dongle
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:28 am

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby otis » Thu May 23, 2019 3:20 pm

Can't seem to find the answer here but: Can QLcommander be used to modify file type, like, making the file executable? It might come handy sometimes.


Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: QLCOMMANDER - testers and help needed

Postby Andrew » Thu May 23, 2019 3:49 pm

otis wrote:Can't seem to find the answer here but: Can QLcommander be used to modify file type, like, making the file executable? It might come handy sometimes.

No, it cannot do that. Never crossed my mind do add this feature.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests