Page 1 of 1

Black Phoenix 1.5 - Preview

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:29 pm
by Giorgio Garabello
A simple preview of Black Phoenix 1.5
http://www.hunggartorino.it/ql/black-ph ... meeting-2/

Giorgio

Re: Black Phoenix 1.5 - Preview

Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 5:24 pm
by Tesla
Downloaded yesterday.

Great job Giorgio, as usual.

Cheer

Re: Black Phoenix 1.5 - Preview

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:30 pm
by Derek_Stewart
Runs great on the Q68...

Re: Black Phoenix 1.5 - Preview

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 8:51 am
by Ralf R.
I wanted to try BP15, put it into the recent QPC2, but it refuses to start properly. The window gets black, an error beep(?) comes, a few Buttons on top and a half created QDT button (just one). The pointer then is a padlock.

When I open the System button, there is "at Line xxx:1" not found. And there is no longer a WIN device. Dir WIN1_ gives not found.

What could it be? I have tried several screen sizes with QPC2, but no luck. Anything to configure first?

Re: Black Phoenix 1.5 - Preview

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 8:07 am
by Giorgio Garabello
Ralf R. wrote:I wanted to try BP15, put it into the recent QPC2, but it refuses to start properly. The window gets black, an error beep(?) comes, a few Buttons on top and a half created QDT button (just one). The pointer then is a padlock.

When I open the System button, there is "at Line xxx:1" not found. And there is no longer a WIN device. Dir WIN1_ gives not found.

What could it be? I have tried several screen sizes with QPC2, but no luck. Anything to configure first?


I sent you an email...

Giorgio

Re: Black Phoenix 1.5 - Preview

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 8:58 am
by Derek_Stewart
Hi,

I downloaded a fresh copy of Black Phoenix v1.5, configured QPC2 to run full screen at 1920x1080 on a Fujitsu Celsius H700 Corei7 Laptop, all worked perfectly.

I tried Black Phoenix on SMSQmulator, the Bird animation did not display, but the system booted up to the desktop. There was an error on QBTnet.

Q68 worked perfectly except a little slower in the high colour mode. 512x384 Mode 33 is preferred for speed.

Note The Q68 is only a single core 40Mhz 68000 and QPC2 is running on a Quad Core i7 processor running 2.8Ghz on each core. Not a fair comparison.

Re: Black Phoenix 1.5 - Preview

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 9:24 am
by Ralf R.
Problem solved, the safety settings on the extracted file for the user was wrong. Write was disabled. Now it works. Thanks to Marcel für the hint.

The QBTnet error was the same here.

I have spent quite a long time to find out, which gives the best screen size with QPC2 for me. It is 768 x 512 on my 19" monitor (4:3). 1024x768 is nice, but far to small to work properly with it. And if I make this for the whole screen, the pixels are interpolated, though not very clean.

Re: Black Phoenix 1.5 - Preview

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 12:58 pm
by Giorgio Garabello
Ralf R. wrote:Problem solved, the safety settings on the extracted file for the user was wrong. Write was disabled. Now it works. Thanks to Marcel für the hint.

The QBTnet error was the same here.

I have spent quite a long time to find out, which gives the best screen size with QPC2 for me. It is 768 x 512 on my 19" monitor (4:3). 1024x768 is nice, but far to small to work properly with it. And if I make this for the whole screen, the pixels are interpolated, though not very clean.


I have made several experiments on the resolutions presented by QPC2, I found that I can also use resolutions not presented in the menu. some results are great, others suck :-) for example on my PC 1920x1080 I use a resolution that does not "exist" 960x540 ... but has a very good result

Giorgio

Re: Black Phoenix 1.5 - Preview

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 1:40 pm
by Ralf R.
On my PC (1280x1024) 960x540 is not good, still interpolated. I can set my size (in Windows) to 1024x768 (a QPC2 default), so should try, if that gave better results.