Request for advice: programming a TASK (not a JOB) in C68...

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
martyn_hill
Aurora

Request for advice: programming a TASK (not a JOB) in C68...

Post by martyn_hill »

Dear gurus...

Question: Is it practical to program a 'task' using C68 on the QL, as opposed to creating a standalone QDOS 'job'? If so, what advice do you have?

Background:
In my on-going effort to bring the QLUB adapter to life (QL Net to USB device - for QL emulators to talk directly to real QLs) beyond my earlier proof-of-concept in SBasic, I've been battling for many months with writing the interface between a standard QDOS device (at the m/c level) in to what I've chosen to call the "MQSvr" or 'Message Queue server', which will probably be written as a Job.

According to this design, it is the job of the MQSvr to sit between the low-level device driver and whatever physical channel is deployed to deliver/receive messages with the adapter itself running on a micro-controller (via a virtual serial/USB port in this case.)

The interface to the MQSvr job however needs to be at the register or m/c level, to allow existing QDOS device drivers - like the QL NET device - to be tweaked to talk to the MQSvr instead of physically pushing data down the wire.

There's quite of bit of (simple) data-structure processing carried-out by this interface layer which is proving very tedious to write directly in assembler - especially as I am contuning to tweak the data-structures as I go - having to re-write the assembler each time I recognise a change to the data-structures.

So, I'd like to take a step-back and explore whether a task-like program implementing this interface between the device driver and the MQSvr job could instead be written in C (C68) which, from what I've researched to-date, is more suited to developing stand-alone applications as a QDOS job.

Thoughts?

tofro
Font of All Knowledge

Re: Request for advice: programming a TASK (not a JOB) in C68...