Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
tcat
Super Gold Card
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby tcat » Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:04 pm

Hi,

Just to report some progress with `level9' game engine.
It now compiles, shows some info on startup asking for a game file.

file size: 79810 bytes
data space: 47936 bytes

NOTE executable file size is fairly big compared to ATARI port, which is roughly 25K, and AMIGA 45K.

Specific QL code in `ql.c' needs implementing a few routines, currently set as dummies.
Will need a lot more work to do, we can start w/o compressed game bitmaps as Rich suggests, graphics is going to be the most difficult part.

Tomas

level9.png
level9 game interpreter
level9.png (2.05 KiB) Viewed 1498 times


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby RWAP » Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:54 pm

An excellent start - it would be worth adding this to the page of the original Level 9 interpreter as well as Github - once it is working then we can hopefully look at general improvements


tcat
Super Gold Card
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby tcat » Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:35 pm

Hi,

Just pushed `level9' to GIThub.
https://github.com/SinclairQL/level9

Tom


tcat
Super Gold Card
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby tcat » Sun Jan 22, 2017 4:24 pm

Hi,

When `bitmaps.o' removed from the build, and adding `-O2' to CFLAGS, makes final executable smaller.
`level9' - file size 58416, data space 48400 bytes.

It seems doing things with `Knight Orc' data files for DOS,

Code: Select all

knork1_dat
knork2_dat
knork3_dat

taken from `Abandonware' pages as hinted by Derek.

knightorc.png
Level 9 interpreter with `Knight Orc' adventure
knightorc.png (8.04 KiB) Viewed 1378 times

Tomas


tcat
Super Gold Card
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby tcat » Sun Jan 22, 2017 6:33 pm

Hi,

I have also build Gtk2+ version of `level9', can be possibly used to source graphics from the games. Seems to also support `magnetic' engine.

EDIT, Amiga or Atari game versions may have nicer graphics with more level of detail

Tomas
KnightOrc-DOS.png
`Knight Orc' DOS version running under Gtk2+


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby RWAP » Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:59 pm

At least it all looks like good progress so far and I am impressed.

As for graphics, I wonder whether any of the graphics modes could more easily be converted to either the 32 bit RGB mode of QPC2, or 8 bit RGB mode of Aurora as an initial version which might encourage others to have a go at producing a native QL graphics mode.

The other option, if we can find the ST graphics files would be for those to be converted using the SToQL Convertor and stored as QL bitmaps


tcat
Super Gold Card
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby tcat » Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:45 pm

The other option, if we can find the ST graphics files would be for those to be converted using the SToQL Convertor and stored as QL bitmaps


As many adventures have also their `ZX' text-only counterparts, we may use `Speccy' game files, surely smaller in size, though with somewhat reduced dictionaries. And combine with `Atari ST' graphics.

EDIT
Also not all graphics need be included in QL native versions, as when a PIC file is not found, it is silently ignored by the engine.

I was also thinking of looking for earlier `level9' versions, they may offer smaller code, though not as complex, possibly not supporting all games.

We currently have build v5.1, but v2.0 for Atari is within 25K only!

Tomas


thorsinclair
Trump Card
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby thorsinclair » Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:53 pm

As for graphics, I wonder whether any of the graphics modes could more easily be converted to either the 32 bit RGB mode of QPC2, or 8 bit RGB mode of Aurora as an initial version which might encourage others to have a go at producing a native QL graphics mode.


Or to the graphics mode invented by Omega which is basically the flipping of two screen, one in mode 4 and the other in mode 8. The result is very good as I think: http://omega.webnode.com/screen/ql-dithvide/


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby RWAP » Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:36 pm

thorsinclair wrote:
As for graphics, I wonder whether any of the graphics modes could more easily be converted to either the 32 bit RGB mode of QPC2, or 8 bit RGB mode of Aurora as an initial version which might encourage others to have a go at producing a native QL graphics mode.


Or to the graphics mode invented by Omega which is basically the flipping of two screen, one in mode 4 and the other in mode 8. The result is very good as I think: http://omega.webnode.com/screen/ql-dithvide/


Yes - if that could be done - but remember that the screen would need to be split to allow the text to be shown at the same time..... Might need to try and get the author of Dithvide involved in this :)


tcat
Super Gold Card
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Expanding the range of QL Adventures

Postby tcat » Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:51 pm

Hi,

Just looking into `dithvide' code by Omega, it makes use of second screen and works on plain QLs, fouling human eye site into perception of more colours.

With adventures, it may work by cloning current screen having text and graphics frames, then updating just a graphics region of the second screen, and finally calling the flicker `magic', which is only 2K of code.

It might be also an idea to combine with `RLE' compression to safe space, as it seems we need to store dual pictures.

If I got the idea right.

Tomas



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests