How to start programming with assembly?

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby tofro » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:10 am

Maybe it's time to start at the very beginning ;) :

Have you read through those pages:
http://www.dilwyn.me.uk/gen/pcqlxfer/index.html
?

If not, you should. There's full documentation on how to get files from the Internet to the QL or emulator.

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
g0blinish
ROM Dongle
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:54 am

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby g0blinish » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:18 am

of course I read,. WXQT2 doesn't work.


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1500
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby Derek_Stewart » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:26 am

Hi

What emulator are you using?

Qemulator (registered) can attach zip files to the MDV slots, this should preverse the executable header.

Failing that you need to get the ZIPped archive into a QL environment before you unzip the files otherwise, the QDOS header information will be lost and you will have to guess at the dataspace required to create the Executable file.

While this is not a problem is a real pain to do everytime.

This was a major probelm in 1990s, there are basic programmes to add QDOS headers to file.


Regards,

Derek
g0blinish
ROM Dongle
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:54 am

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby g0blinish » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:35 am

hi!
I'm using Qemulator and QLAY2. Seems registering doesn't makes sence: limit to write data, a couple of issues with emulation.


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1500
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby Derek_Stewart » Mon Jun 29, 2015 2:44 pm

Hi,

Please the attached screen dump from Qemulator, I just attached the ADDRASM_ZIP file to slot 1 and it booted up into the assembler.

ADDR_ASM.png
Qemulator running ADDR Assembler


You will have register Qemulator to do this.

But this seems the easiest way to get zip file from PC into a QL enironment.

The software can be copied to a QXL.WIN file and loadable on any QL system that reads QXL.WIN files.


Regards,

Derek
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby RWAP » Mon Jun 29, 2015 2:46 pm

Just tried it here (admittedly on Windows version of q-emulator) and I get the same as Derek.

Maybe try downloading the zip again?


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1500
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby Derek_Stewart » Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:08 pm

Hi,

I used the registered version of Qemulator on Linux running wine...

The attachment of zip files is not available in the unregistered version.


Regards,

Derek
g0blinish
ROM Dongle
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:54 am

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby g0blinish » Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:52 am

RWAP wrote:Maybe try downloading the zip again?


let check hashsum:
Image

I downloaded many times Adder with sam result. if shareware limitation exists it sucks.

I think about registering and buying one.


User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1517
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Wales
Contact:

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby dilwyn » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:18 pm

The unregistered version of QemuLator has a few restrictions compared to the registered version.

Registration unlocks many extra features like faster CPU emulation, quick loading of SuperBASIC programs, a more advanced file system supporting subdirectories, access to QXL.WIN files, .ZIP files, Aurora and Q60 video cards, TCP/IP driver, choice of RAM sizes, etc.


After you have registered, you actually have a choice to unregister also! I sometimes use this to test if software works on the unregistered version, then simply entering the code again turns it back into the registered version.

This definitely sounds like why you've had this problem, since other people have got it to work OK on QemuLator with 128K RAM.

It's not that shareware "sucks", this is a try-before-you-buy from the author who has actually been good enough to allow enough facilities to run modest unzipped programs for free.


Dilwyn
All things QL: see www.dilwyn.me.uk
Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1500
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: How to start programming with assembly?

Postby Derek_Stewart » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:35 pm

Hi Dilwyn,

By registering Qemulator, we are supporting a QL Writer to write good software.

Also, the registered version can mount ZIP files to a WIN / MDV slot. This allows the contents to be copied to a QXL.WIN file maintaining the QDOS header.

Quite a neat feature.


Regards,

Derek

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 7 guests