QL Pawn in web browser

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
User avatar
Sparrowhawk
Gold Card
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: @131072
Contact:

QL Pawn in web browser

Postby Sparrowhawk » Fri Jul 31, 2020 12:28 pm

Has anyone managed to get the original QL Pawn to run in the browser here? https://msmemorial.if-legends.org/games.htm/qlpawn.php

I get as far as the QL F1/F2 screen, but nothing happens on key press. Could be a Mac issue perhaps. I'll need to try on my Windows laptop over the weekend.

Anyway, I rather like it - An emulated QL (uses qlay) on an emulated DOSbox in JavaScript. Pretty neat really.


a.k.a. Jean-Yves !
User avatar
RalfR
Gold Card
Posts: 417
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: QL Pawn in web browser

Postby RalfR » Fri Jul 31, 2020 12:44 pm

It works, just read carefully the following sentence from the web page...and look, where I have placed the pointer:

"Note:If the emulation does not respond to the F1/F2 key press on start, you need to focus the window. Click somewhere into the inner frame close to the border."

2020-07-31 13_43_50-QL-Pawn.jpg


User avatar
Sparrowhawk
Gold Card
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: @131072
Contact:

Re: QL Pawn in web browser

Postby Sparrowhawk » Fri Jul 31, 2020 2:18 pm

Oops, you are quite right, it's right there in the text ! Sorry :D

Working now. A really impressive feat of nested emulation, I must say.


a.k.a. Jean-Yves !
User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1978
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: QL Pawn in web browser

Postby tofro » Sat Aug 01, 2020 8:00 am

Sparrowhawk wrote:Has anyone managed to get the original QL Pawn to run in the browser here? https://msmemorial.if-legends.org/games.htm/qlpawn.php

I get as far as the QL F1/F2 screen, but nothing happens on key press. Could be a Mac issue perhaps. I'll need to try on my Windows laptop over the weekend.


Why do you want to run The Pawn on your web browser when you can run the real thing in full graphics on your Q68?


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
bwinkel67
Gold Card
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 2:09 am

Re: QL Pawn in web browser

Postby bwinkel67 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:09 am

Wow, that's pretty cool. I want to look into how to set that up. Could demo other programs the same way...


User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 485
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: QL Pawn in web browser

Postby Chr$ » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:13 am

I wonder if QLAY in a DOSbox like that might be a good way of presenting (and making playable) the QL games that are still under Copyright?


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 3x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
bwinkel67
Gold Card
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 2:09 am

Re: QL Pawn in web browser

Postby bwinkel67 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:38 am

Chr$ wrote:I wonder if QLAY in a DOSbox like that might be a good way of presenting (and making playable) the QL games that are still under Copyright?


I would love to put my ZXSimulator online that way. It runs on a 128K unexpanded QL so resource-wise it would be minimal.


User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 485
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: QL Pawn in web browser

Postby Chr$ » Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:03 am

bwinkel67 wrote:
I would love to put my ZXSimulator online that way. It runs on a 128K unexpanded QL so resource-wise it would be minimal.


That's a very good idea. Let me know how you go about it!


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 3x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
Sparrowhawk
Gold Card
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: @131072
Contact:

Re: QL Pawn in web browser

Postby Sparrowhawk » Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:33 am

tofro wrote:Why do you want to run The Pawn on your web browser when you can run the real thing in full graphics on your Q68?


It's not a matter of wanting as such, it's a matter of being impressed by the technical ingenuity that allows this.


a.k.a. Jean-Yves !
User avatar
bwinkel67
Gold Card
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 2:09 am

Re: QL Pawn in web browser

Postby bwinkel67 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:34 pm

Chr$ wrote:
bwinkel67 wrote:
I would love to put my ZXSimulator online that way. It runs on a 128K unexpanded QL so resource-wise it would be minimal.


That's a very good idea. Let me know how you go about it!


Ok, I have it working. So this is temporary since I'm not hosting my own web server or using an online server. But all one needs to do is run this HTML code and find online storage for the zip. Note that they recommend you don't point to their DOSBox JavaScript (which I'm doing) so you'd also have to make a copy of that. This is for demonstration purposes only.

Here is the HTML code, just extract the file on your Desktop:

ZXSimulator.png

ZXSimulator_html.zip
(506 Bytes) Downloaded 8 times



Then download this zip file and also stick it on your Desktop:

qlay090.zip
(220.38 KiB) Downloaded 6 times


Now just double-click the HTML file and DOSBox will load and it will load QLAY in turn, which will then auto-boot the ZXSimulator.

A couple of issues. First, I'm using WIN and not MDV as the latter seemed to take forever to read (or it hung...dunno). Since DOSBox only wants 8 character names and the QL wants '_' we run out of characters pretty quickly since we need "_bas" for the extension, leaving 4 characters for the name (it took me some time to figure this out since I kept getting corrupt files and finally realized it was only those that were longer than 8 characters total -- i.e. banner_bas is 10 in length and kept giving me garbage). The second issue was that I could not, for the life of me, un-zip and re-zip the QLAY folder and still have it work unless I removed the sub2/ directory. So to leave that structure I ended up just taking the original qlay090.zip from Dilwyn's site and replaced the contents of sub2/ and that caused it to work. Something with Windows 7 zip that DOSBox doesn't like (it works if I just put all the files on the same level as the executable and leave out and sub directories (i.e. sub2/).

Keyboard input is slow but still, once I get my website going I can showcase ZXSimulator using this method. It's pretty easy to set up once you get the hand of it. I'll have to see if Wordpress will allow this to work and if not I'll have to find somewhere else to host it.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests