My Q68 configuration

The Thor, Aurora, Q40, Q60 & Q68 etc. are discussed here.
User avatar
bwinkel67
Super Gold Card
Posts: 619
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 2:09 am

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby bwinkel67 » Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:27 pm

Ooh, I like the case look...very QL'ish. It's bigger than Q68 and has the extra PS2 and two USB plus power socket. I'm assuming it fits the mods that you made to the board. Are these standard/easy to do? For instance, that dual PS2 socket, how do you piggyback the 2nd one. And if USB is just power, I guess you are grabbing 5 volts from your power supply. I'd love to see a bigger picture of the actual setup sans the case. My plan is for a case that fits the Q68 with an external power brick and no extra sockets but if some of these are easy to add I might change that.


User avatar
Zerover
ROM Dongle
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:45 pm

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby Zerover » Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:09 pm

I have a net cable from the Aurora. I wonder if this is suitable.

net_aurora.jpg


User avatar
Zerover
ROM Dongle
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:45 pm

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby Zerover » Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:14 pm

The naked circuits are shown:

circuits.jpg

The mouse connector is soldered to the bottom of the Q68. Also does the extension to the audio socket, but the cable is not in the picture. The USB connector are attached directly to power supply, although there is not cable in the picture either.


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2214
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby Derek_Stewart » Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:58 pm

Zerover wrote:I have a net cable from the Aurora. I wonder if this is suitable.

Hi,

The Aurora net cable requires a 47R resistor in the line that goes to the Q68 QLNET Connector, also a Schokkty diode is required to +3.3v.

The connection to the Q68 expansion bus needs a 2x12 2mm pitch connector.

I have only recently been fitting a male expansion port connector. Due I did not think when the construction of the early batches of Q68 board, there was no QL NET software driver.

I can supply a suitable 2x12 2mm male connector, that requires soldering into the Q68 expansion port.

I have an outstanding job to fit twin QL Network ports to the existing Q68 case, which proved very challenging, but I think I have a neat solution. It does require some internal case wall profiling to fit the 3.5mm connectors and have the outer case counter-bored to secure the ports.

The FPGA programming socket has to be replaced with a 90 degree connector to allow the Q68 PCB installation into the case.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
Peter
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1232
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:47 am

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby Peter » Wed Feb 19, 2020 10:31 am

Zerover wrote:I now am disigning a case with OpenSCAD to put it all together

Cool setup! Did you already print your case?


User avatar
Zerover
ROM Dongle
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:45 pm

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby Zerover » Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:05 pm

No, I am modifying it to host the QL network connectors.


User avatar
papanillu
ROM Dongle
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby papanillu » Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:44 pm

Lovely Case,
Congratulations

Have you already print it?
Will you publish the stl files?
I tried to design my own, but first I need to learn to draw


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2214
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby Derek_Stewart » Sun Feb 07, 2021 10:57 am

Zerover wrote:Thanks for the positive comments, this design is only a copy of original style.


The LEDs in the picture are the built-in round ones that came with the Q68.


I have tried a couple of places to put the net connectors:

q68_case_net_1.png

q68_case_net_2.png
Also I could design the case a bit bigger to make another place for them. Although I don't really know what the circuit to add is like.

Where do you think is a good place?

Hi

Looks good to me.

Can I ask you to make one for me or supply me with the design details and I will make one.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
Zerover
ROM Dongle
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:45 pm

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby Zerover » Mon Feb 15, 2021 8:23 pm

I printed a prototype, but failed. I have corrected the errors, but it is in "stand-by". I don't have 3D printer of my own and am waiting to borrow some one.

I don't think this version is definitive, but if you want I can post the STLs and you can test it.


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2214
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: My Q68 configuration

Postby Derek_Stewart » Mon Feb 15, 2021 11:07 pm

Hi,

I have a basic 3D Printer, an old DaVinci Jr. Which is in storage, mainly, due having no where to use it.

I only have a small bedroom to build the Q68 and other things.

So I would get a 3D Printing company to print anything required.


Regards,

Derek

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest