Noddy Keyboard Almost

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
Ruptor
Trump Card
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 2:23 pm

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby Ruptor » Thu Sep 24, 2020 4:29 pm

Pr0f wrote:
Ruptor wrote:
Pr0f wrote:no - it was about an interface board he's made to go into the keyboard tail sockets and has I think a 20 pin connector with an IDC female end on it
Oh! thanks, the PCB plug. Probably Derek would like it but it is too neat & fancy for me. :lol:
I don't think a straight one piece PCB would fit a QL because the connectors are offset by the width of a PCB but I guess it could be cut and made in to two PCB plugs.


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2066
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby Derek_Stewart » Thu Sep 24, 2020 6:11 pm

Hi,

No need, to send your schematic.

I will amend my attempt with the newcswitch.

The switch iscavailable on Farnell:
https://uk.farnell.com/omron/b3fs-4002p/switch-spst-0-05a-24vdc-smd/dp/2113269#

Here is the datasheet
2341177.pdf
SMD Tactile Switch B3FS-4
(295.7 KiB) Downloaded 13 times


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2525
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby Dave » Fri Sep 25, 2020 6:04 am

That switch requires 150g of force to actuate. The commonest actuation force is 45g, and 65g is considered ‘stiff’...


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2066
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby Derek_Stewart » Fri Sep 25, 2020 12:01 pm

Hi,

My original idea was to use Cherry switches, but the was a problem with the height of the switch in relation to the QL Key stem.

I do not want to modify the QL, so I will look into how a low profile Cherry switch can fitted without a problem.

The conne tion to tge QL board is just a simple thin PCB to the QL board connectors.

The Tetroid solution, is an expansion on the circuit in the Aurora manual, to connect a QL Keyboard to the Aurora QL Keyboard connector.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
Ruptor
Trump Card
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 2:23 pm

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby Ruptor » Fri Sep 25, 2020 2:22 pm

Dave wrote:That switch requires 150g of force to actuate. The commonest actuation force is 45g, and 65g is considered ‘stiff’...
Yes that is why I arranged the switch footprint with large pads so it can take 6 mm switches or others like this diagonally between pads.
EziUsin-6-6-5-Silent-Botton-PCB-Keyboard-Light-Touch-Quiet-Micro-Switch
In case the first switch was too tough. The thread is "Noddy keyboard" because as I said I didn't envisage it as a professional typist keyboard for continuous use. However there are so many different types of surface mount switches that there is bound to be one that could make it as good as a membrane. :)


User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2525
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby Dave » Sat Sep 26, 2020 4:21 am

Derek_Stewart wrote:The Tetroid solution, is an expansion on the circuit in the Aurora manual, to connect a QL Keyboard to the Aurora QL Keyboard connector.


It looks a bit more advanced than that. It looks like a two pcb solution where one is the switch locator and a lower PCB connects the traces. It will work with an Aurora or a QL adapter. The QL adapter is shown in one of the pics.

This is a glorious keyboard that will fit really nicely. I will be buying one. I installed several of the Schon keyboards so I already know what will be involved. None of the cuts are visible. Cherry Brown is my favorite key.


User avatar
Ruptor
Trump Card
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 2:23 pm

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby Ruptor » Fri Oct 02, 2020 11:24 am

I have shrunk the pads on the switch footprint because they were unnecessarily large. I made them stick past the pins of the biggest switch I might use so they are easy to solder and also fit smaller switches for versatility but some how they ended up at 750 when I aimed for 650 mil. :roll: Anyway it was really easy to change the pads and ripple it through to the PCB using Kicad. :D Now I am positioning the switches on the board in the right place I hope and there seems enough room around them to fit tracks where as putting the original switches pad to pad they didn't fit on the board. :shock:


User avatar
Ruptor
Trump Card
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 2:23 pm

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby Ruptor » Sat Oct 10, 2020 9:40 am

Can you believe it Kicad 5 doesn't have autoroute but Kicad 4 does. How can you upgrade something with a downgrade, what a bunch of plonkers. :x Now I have to mess around with Freeroute to get some kind of an autorouter. I could have taped it quicker and had the PCBs back by now. :(


User avatar
NormanDunbar
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby NormanDunbar » Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:13 am

This might help if anyone else uses autorouting....https://techexplorations.com/blog/kicad ... utorouter/

I like to route my own pcbs, but that's just me!

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
Author of Arduino Software Internals - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Arduino-Softwa ... 1484257898, https://www.apress.com/gb/book/9781484257890
User avatar
tofro
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2063
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Noddy Keyboard Almost

Postby tofro » Sat Oct 10, 2020 11:39 am

NormanDunbar wrote:
I like to route my own pcbs, but that's just me!


Nope, it's not. It's me as well. In my experience, 2-layer PCBS (might be different for more layers, but I don't do these) are much easier, better, and faster made without autorouter. KiKad's auto-placement of traces is just the right amount of "auto" that I think makes sense.

When I tried the auto-router in KiCad 4, I often found it tedious to remove and re-route wierdly routed traces placed by the autorouter that could have easily avoided with a bit of intuition or a single via. There's just too much degrees of freedom when starting with a blank PCB and an autorouter for it to do proper work (the first 5 minutes of placing traces decide greatly on the quality of a PCB, and the computer normally isn't very good at heuristics and guesswork).

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests