MDV2 Microdrive spinning slowly all the time.

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
Plasticduck
ROM Dongle

MDV2 Microdrive spinning slowly all the time.

Post by Plasticduck »

As the title suggests I have an issue with the microdrive.
Now I am new to the QL and have had a good look through the forum and can't find anything which cures my issue.
I purchased this QL about a month back from the car boot, visually it is in great condition.
It fires up and everything seems to work ok.
I have trawled the internet for advice regarding getting these to run well.
As such up to now I have fitted a new keyboard membrane as a few of the keys didn't respond and I have changed the capacitors.
This hasn't cured my problem though.
Microdrive 2 spins all the time, slowly, and the light is on very dimly.
I only have one cart, I have re-felted it, and have ordered some tested ones.
When I send either the format or dir command to either microdrive they spool up as intended but always come back as format failed.

If I try to dir with no cartridge in it reports not found as expected.
Now the failure to format may well be a bad cartridge hence I have ordered some tested ones.
I have tested TR6 as suggested in the service manual and that checks out fine.
It isn't the microdrive itself as swapping them over changes nothing.
Is there anything else obvious that causes this to happen or is it not a common fault and I am going to have to track it down myself.?

Many thanks for any suggestions, it really is a lovely unit, near mint, Issue 5 and I would love to keep it with the microdrives in place if possible.

James

tofro
Font of All Knowledge

Re: MDV2 Microdrive spinning slowly all the time.

Post by tofro »

Did I get that right, if you swap mdv1_ with mdv2_ it's still drive 2 that's spinning?

If yes, then I'd first try to remove mdv2_ completely and then test wether the remaining drive works without that disturbance.