Psion Software with Gold Card

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby Chr$ » Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:42 am

Now that I have a working original GC attached to my QL I've just been playing around with my normal QL stuff.

It doesn't seem to work with anything from the original Psion suite. Is that normal? I read that the Psion progs like to take all the available RAM. When I try to EW e.g. Quill, it goes bananas, corrupt screen, accessing random mdv's, it even managed to change my vMap configuration! Searching online doesn't reveal anything related to GC/Psion use so perhaps I have another issue.

Any ideas?


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 2x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1879
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby tofro » Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:09 pm

The Psion suite becomes confused if there is "too much" free memory available.
You can often work around this if you simply hog some memory during start-up of the program and release it afterwards:

Code: Select all

100 REMark needs TK2
110 a = ALCHP (1024 * 1024) : REMark Grab 1MB of memory (adjust with SGC/GC - leave around 256k free for Quill)
120 EW win1_quill
130 RECHP (a)


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
RalfR
Gold Card
Posts: 394
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby RalfR » Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:22 pm

Hmm, first an EW, then an ALCHP.....? ;)

For those things, the early programs from the QRAM suite are very useful to patch the Psion programs. Or use Qpac 2 "Execute" Sub-menu "Psion".
Last edited by RalfR on Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.


User avatar
janbredenbeek
Gold Card
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:54 pm
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands

Re: Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby janbredenbeek » Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:24 pm

Chr$ wrote:Now that I have a working original GC attached to my QL I've just been playing around with my normal QL stuff.
It doesn't seem to work with anything from the original Psion suite. Is that normal? I read that the Psion progs like to take all the available RAM. When I try to EW e.g. Quill, it goes bananas, corrupt screen, accessing random mdv's, it even managed to change my vMap configuration! Searching online doesn't reveal anything related to GC/Psion use so perhaps I have another issue.

You might try Quill-e v2.4 on DIlwyn's download page here: http://www.dilwyn.me.uk/psions/index.html.
If you have the Pointer Environment, you can start Quill with the EXEP command like this: EXEP Quill,p,256 to allow 256K to be reserved for Quill.
Also note that the Psion programs don't handle subdirectories, if the document you want to load is in a subdirectory you have to use the DEV_USE command to make a devx_ device point into the subdirectory and use 'devx_name_doc' in Quill to load the document.

Jan


User avatar
janbredenbeek
Gold Card
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:54 pm
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands

Re: Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby janbredenbeek » Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:31 pm

Ralf R. wrote:Hmm, first an EW, then an ALCHP.....? ;)

For those things, the early programs from the QRAM suite are very useful to patch the Psion programs. Or use Qpac 2 "Execute" Sub-menu "Psion".

Yes I remember starting the patched versions using EW GRQUILL, EW GRABACUS etc. ;) .
This was later incorporated in the EXEP command with the P parameter, e.g. EXEP Quill,p,256.


User avatar
Andrew
Gold Card
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby Andrew » Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:33 pm

What Psion versions are you using ?
I use XChange 3.90 with GC and SGC and have not encountered any issues.


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1879
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby tofro » Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:46 pm

Ralf R. wrote:Hmm, first an EW, then an ALCHP.....? ;)

Don't get that.


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby Chr$ » Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:52 pm

Andrew wrote:What Psion versions are you using ?

2.3 or 2.35, I can't remember exactly. Quite an ancient 'original' one.

Tobias, I couldn't get your ALCHP trick to work.

I'll try EXEP Quill,p,256 but will probably move over to Xchange then (I've used that on the QXLII).


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 2x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
RalfR
Gold Card
Posts: 394
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby RalfR » Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:06 pm

tofro wrote:
Ralf R. wrote:Hmm, first an EW, then an ALCHP.....? ;)

Don't get that.

If you EW you never reach ALCHP to release memory. Only if you quit QUILL.


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1879
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Psion Software with Gold Card

Postby tofro » Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:26 pm

Ralf R. wrote:
tofro wrote:
Ralf R. wrote:Hmm, first an EW, then an ALCHP.....? ;)

Don't get that.

If you EW you never reach ALCHP to release memory. Only if you quit QUILL.


ALCHP allocates the memory and hides it from Quill.

RECHP releases it once Quill is done.

And the ALCHP obviously is before the EW.

I still don't get your point (maybe you confuse the two commands?).


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests