vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 405
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby Chr$ » Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:13 pm

Yes, you need some kind of WIN1_ storage or a data medium in MDV1_/FLP1_. Any of those places can contain a file called 'boot' that contains those instructions.

Have you got an FLP1_? If not (and assuming lack of WIN1_), you may have to boot from a known good cartridge in MDV1_.

How do you currently initialise the vDrive?


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 2x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
SinclairSociety
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby SinclairSociety » Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:44 pm

Chr$ wrote:Yes, you need some kind of WIN1_ storage or a data medium in MDV1_/FLP1_. Any of those places can contain a file called 'boot' that contains those instructions.

Have you got an FLP1_? If not (and assuming lack of WIN1_), you may have to boot from a known good cartridge in MDV1_.

How do you currently initialise the vDrive?


No floppy at the moment... but my SandyQ does have that interface so one day...

I have to type lrun mdv3_boot w/o SD cart in vDrive to get Toolkit running.. if that is what you mean by initialize. Then I have access to those features.

Maybe when I get my Microcarts back from DaveP I can make a boot microcart that does this then.

TJ
Last edited by SinclairSociety on Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Sinclair Computers are AWESOME!!
stephen_usher
Trump Card
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:00 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby stephen_usher » Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:45 pm

On the virtual microdrive cartridge you'd have to rename the original "boot" file and create a new one containing the above code with the last line changed to lrun the original.


stephen_usher
Trump Card
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:00 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby stephen_usher » Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:48 pm

Instead of a real floppy drive you could buy a Gotek unit with the "Flashfloppy" firmware installed.

With various interface cables the one unit could be used with most/all of your other machines as well.


User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 405
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby Chr$ » Thu Feb 06, 2020 6:09 pm

SinclairSociety wrote:I have to type lrun mdv3_boot w/o SD cart in vDrive to get Toolkit running.. if that is what you mean by initialize. Then I have access to those features.

No, I mean to enable the vDrive you have to LBYTES a _bin file that comes with them. Do you also do that on every fresh boot?


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 2x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
SinclairSociety
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby SinclairSociety » Thu Feb 06, 2020 6:18 pm

Chr$ wrote:
SinclairSociety wrote:I have to type lrun mdv3_boot w/o SD cart in vDrive to get Toolkit running.. if that is what you mean by initialize. Then I have access to those features.

No, I mean to enable the vDrive you have to LBYTES a _bin file that comes with them. Do you also do that on every fresh boot?


That I have no idea. Don't recall I have even seen the word LBYTES, other than in the line 270 I changed in the Assault game and I saw it there. hahah.

So no idea... :lol:

Guess if I read more I will find out.

TJ


Sinclair Computers are AWESOME!!
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 405
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby Chr$ » Thu Feb 06, 2020 6:30 pm

Well that's odd. There is a little 3 part routine I always have to do (it's part of my boot file) to enable the vDrive. Without that it doesn't work at all. The code for that is also on the vDrive, so I assume it must run itself or something. I'm not sure what the options were for that, without looking through the vDrive manual.


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 2x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
Andrew
Gold Card
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby Andrew » Thu Feb 06, 2020 6:50 pm

SinclairSociety wrote:
Chr$ wrote:
SinclairSociety wrote:I have to type lrun mdv3_boot w/o SD cart in vDrive to get Toolkit running.. if that is what you mean by initialize. Then I have access to those features.

No, I mean to enable the vDrive you have to LBYTES a _bin file that comes with them. Do you also do that on every fresh boot?


That I have no idea. Don't recall I have even seen the word LBYTES, other than in the line 270 I changed in the Assault game and I saw it there. hahah.

So no idea... :lol:

Guess if I read more I will find out.

TJ

When you lrun mdv3_boot w/o SD cart in vDrive you actually perform a LBYTES md3_vtkql_bin, base
Just list the boot file from your mdv3_ and you will see.

As most if not all games run from mdv1_ it is better to install the vMap, if you have bought it with vDrive. It would make things much easier for you.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests