vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
SinclairSociety
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:17 pm

vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby SinclairSociety » Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:08 pm

Hi all, have my vDrive up and running. Can read and write to it... but so far running any games on the vDrive as mdv3_ are all failing.

Game loads but everyone so far fails to run.

Example... Speedfreaks... loads.. but then error comes up on screen.

The screen shows it us trying to run Speedfreaks as that does show but below it shows.

Error reads "At line 330 not found"

Seems every game from every image I load I get similar errors.

Tried Packman... get an At line 30 not found.

Another example... Metropolis... get error At line 35 not found.

Final example Assault... error at line 270.. and sure enough.. looking for something on mdv1_ when I look at the code.

Could it be I am trying to run as mdv3_ and they are expecting to be on mdv1_?

Any way around this?

I don't use or have vMap.

Any tips would be great!

TJ
Last edited by SinclairSociety on Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.


Sinclair Computers are AWESOME!!
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby Chr$ » Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:23 pm

SinclairSociety wrote:Could it be I am trying to run as mdv3_ and they are expecting to be on mdv1_?

Yes, that'll be exactly what it is. Have a look at those lines and change the path to MDV3_ (some are likely to be FLP1_ or of course MDV1_).

That might fix some of them, but a lot of stuff has the paths hard coded (i.e. within the bytes in exe files or similar code files) and not just in the SuperBasic loader. Those are more problematic.


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 2x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
SinclairSociety
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby SinclairSociety » Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:28 pm

Ha... so with at least Assault, I changed the code to mdv3_ and she runs...

Almost seems I need to get this vMap device. Unless I want to change every program.

Shoot.

Guessing there is no other trick?

TJ


Sinclair Computers are AWESOME!!
User avatar
bwinkel67
Gold Card
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 2:09 am

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby bwinkel67 » Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:54 pm

I've actually been editing all this stuff outside of vDrive. The config file is easy to set up in Notepad on a Windows machine once you get the hang of the format. You can also go in and find reference of mdv1 or flp1 in the .MDV files and change it to whatever mdv you have it set to in your vDrive config (for me mdv3 through mdv8 with like 5 banks for all of the games).


User avatar
SinclairSociety
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby SinclairSociety » Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:07 am

My first official game played on QL is Assault. :D

LOL

TJ

QLAssault1_resized.jpg


QLAssault2_resized.jpg


Sinclair Computers are AWESOME!!
User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby Chr$ » Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:40 am

SinclairSociety wrote:Guessing there is no other trick?

TJ

This works for me with a vDrive, but I also have a Trump card with a RAM disk via the TDI Tetroid device and the RAM_USE thing, is I believe only available via the Trump card, so may be completely useless for your setup!

1. Copy the contents of the mdv3_ device to ram1_ by entering "format ram1_mdv3".

2. Enter "ram_use mdv" which will change all the MDV1_ references to point at RAM1_.

3. With the files from MDV3_ now in RAM1_ (from that format command, step 1) you can now enter "dir mdv1_" and it will show you the content of RAM1_ thinking that it's MDV1_

4. Enter "lrun mdv1_X", where X is the boot file name.


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 2x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
SinclairSociety
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby SinclairSociety » Thu Feb 06, 2020 2:49 pm

Thanks... don't think I can do that but will remember if I get that trump card.
TJ

Chr$ wrote:
SinclairSociety wrote:Guessing there is no other trick?

TJ

This works for me with a vDrive, but I also have a Trump card with a RAM disk via the TDI Tetroid device and the RAM_USE thing, is I believe only available via the Trump card, so may be completely useless for your setup!

1. Copy the contents of the mdv3_ device to ram1_ by entering "format ram1_mdv3".

2. Enter "ram_use mdv" which will change all the MDV1_ references to point at RAM1_.

3. With the files from MDV3_ now in RAM1_ (from that format command, step 1) you can now enter "dir mdv1_" and it will show you the content of RAM1_ thinking that it's MDV1_

4. Enter "lrun mdv1_X", where X is the boot file name.


Sinclair Computers are AWESOME!!
stephen_usher
Trump Card
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:00 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby stephen_usher » Thu Feb 06, 2020 3:01 pm

Chr$ wrote:
SinclairSociety wrote:Guessing there is no other trick?

TJ

This works for me with a vDrive, but I also have a Trump card with a RAM disk via the TDI Tetroid device and the RAM_USE thing, is I believe only available via the Trump card, so may be completely useless for your setup!

1. Copy the contents of the mdv3_ device to ram1_ by entering "format ram1_mdv3".

2. Enter "ram_use mdv" which will change all the MDV1_ references to point at RAM1_.

3. With the files from MDV3_ now in RAM1_ (from that format command, step 1) you can now enter "dir mdv1_" and it will show you the content of RAM1_ thinking that it's MDV1_

4. Enter "lrun mdv1_X", where X is the boot file name.


From what I remember, the Sandy SuperQBoard doesn't have the same RAMdisk extension. You can, however, create a RAMdisk manually and then copy to contents over manually.

e.g.
tk2_ext
format ram1_240
wcopy mdv1_ to ram1_
ram_use mdv
lrun mdv1_boot


User avatar
Chr$
Gold Card
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 10:03 am
Location: Sachsen, Germany

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby Chr$ » Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:00 pm

Ah yes, you have a SuperQBoard. Good to go then!


Collector of original and some newer QL related computers, accessories and software even though I don't understand how any of them work.
Original BBQL's: 2x German, 1x UK model (plus quite a bit of other old stuff)
Custom AT cased QL system with Gold Card, Qimi mouse, Hermes and MFM HDD
PC with QXLII card installed
Q68 also present

Ask me about near NOS re-felted good quality Microdrive Carts - many available.
User avatar
SinclairSociety
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: vDrive QL, Dilwyn's vDrive Images, and Running Games

Postby SinclairSociety » Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:52 pm

Would there be a more automated way to do this at boot... where I can get a RAMdisk created with launch just one program and it does this below script?
TJ


stephen_usher wrote:
Chr$ wrote:
SinclairSociety wrote:Guessing there is no other trick?

TJ

This works for me with a vDrive, but I also have a Trump card with a RAM disk via the TDI Tetroid device and the RAM_USE thing, is I believe only available via the Trump card, so may be completely useless for your setup!

1. Copy the contents of the mdv3_ device to ram1_ by entering "format ram1_mdv3".

2. Enter "ram_use mdv" which will change all the MDV1_ references to point at RAM1_.

3. With the files from MDV3_ now in RAM1_ (from that format command, step 1) you can now enter "dir mdv1_" and it will show you the content of RAM1_ thinking that it's MDV1_

4. Enter "lrun mdv1_X", where X is the boot file name.


From what I remember, the Sandy SuperQBoard doesn't have the same RAMdisk extension. You can, however, create a RAMdisk manually and then copy to contents over manually.

e.g.
tk2_ext
format ram1_240
wcopy mdv1_ to ram1_
ram_use mdv
lrun mdv1_boot


Sinclair Computers are AWESOME!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests