QL-VGA

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
RalfR
Gold Card
Posts: 409
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:58 pm

Re: QL-VGA

Postby RalfR » Thu Jan 09, 2020 5:03 pm

mk79 wrote:
Pr0f wrote:Will have to have a gander at home - my works internet nazi's are blocking this site for some reason :-(
Probably because of all the porn I host? Hardware-porn that is, not hardcore :twisted: I've had this in my previous page because I had a "hacking" section which is of course absolutely evil, but the current page should be very clean :?:


I think, they have a maintained firewall with a black list and keywords. "PCB" seems to be a very bad word :mrgreen:.

With our former hoster, we had it similar and I wasn't able to contact kilgus.net. After changing, it works.


User avatar
SinclairSociety
Over Heated PSU
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:17 pm

Re: QL-VGA

Postby SinclairSociety » Thu Jan 09, 2020 5:06 pm

Ditto. Me Wants One!

TJ


Sinclair Computers are AWESOME!!
afx
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:23 pm

Re: QL-VGA

Postby afx » Thu Jan 09, 2020 5:15 pm

Great job Marcel!

I definitely want one.


User avatar
Pr0f
Super Gold Card
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:54 am

Re: QL-VGA

Postby Pr0f » Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:12 pm

Nice work Marcel - is this a frame by frame doubler or a line at a time scan doubler?


User avatar
mk79
Super Gold Card
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:54 am
Location: Esslingen/Germany
Contact:

Re: QL-VGA

Postby mk79 » Sat Jan 11, 2020 10:34 am

Pr0f wrote:Nice work Marcel - is this a frame by frame doubler or a line at a time scan doubler?
It's a frame doubler as refresh frequency needs to be adapted from 50Hz to 60Hz, too, for a compliant signal.


User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2488
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: QL-VGA

Postby Dave » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:17 pm

Since the NTSC flag in the 8301 allows 60Hz output, would that simplify things? Or is the 60Hz tied strictly to different resolutions?


Nasta
Gold Card
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:02 am
Location: Zapresic, Croatia

Re: QL-VGA

Postby Nasta » Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:35 pm

Dave wrote:Since the NTSC flag in the 8301 allows 60Hz output, would that simplify things? Or is the 60Hz tied strictly to different resolutions?


As far as I know, there isn't a version of the 8301 ULA that actually implements this. It was obviously planned but may never have been implemented.


User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2488
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: QL-VGA

Postby Dave » Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:41 pm

These US QLs are definitely outputting legal NTSC timings in mode 8, and 'standard' timings in mode 4. The 8301 standard, not different from the 8301s found in the UK. Of course, that means at 60 Hz with PAL pixel format would require a 20% clock increase.


User avatar
mk79
Super Gold Card
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:54 am
Location: Esslingen/Germany
Contact:

Re: QL-VGA

Postby mk79 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:08 am

Nasta wrote:As far as I know, there isn't a version of the 8301 ULA that actually implements this. It was obviously planned but may never have been implemented.
Actually I tried "POKE hex('18063'),64" on my German issue 6 or something QL and the display gets weird and the poll frequency changes to 60Hz, so I think NTSC with the 8301 is a thing ;)



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests