Reset Switch

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
retro_collector
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:26 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Reset Switch

Postby retro_collector » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:38 pm

I have my QL almost 100%

When you press the reset switch nothing happens. I sprayed contact cleaner and waited a few hours and still doesn't work.

Anyone have any ideas?

Cheers!

Bill


User avatar
Bloodnok
vDriveQL
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 9:46 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Reset Switch

Postby Bloodnok » Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:35 pm

retro_collector wrote:I have my QL almost 100%

When you press the reset switch nothing happens. I sprayed contact cleaner and waited a few hours and still doesn't work.

Anyone have any ideas?

Cheers!

Bill


Hi Bill, from the photo your sent me the reset switch has certainly been damaged. I suggested trying to press the switch back together - not sure if you tried this? If your'e confident you could try and dismantle it to see if it can be repaired, otherwise a replacement will need to be found.

Charles


retro_collector
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:26 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: Reset Switch

Postby retro_collector » Tue Aug 20, 2019 12:33 am

Charles,

Yews I tried pressing the switch back together and all I do is flex the QL board. I wish there was a YouTube video on how to remove and install the reset switch,

Cheers

Bill


retro_collector
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:26 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: Reset Switch

Postby retro_collector » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:33 pm

Ok Folks mystery solved,

Once I took apart the reset switch I knew immediately what the problem was.

Anyone want to venture a guess?

I put in a new switch and now its working. So now the only thing left is to wait for my new MDV1 and 2 to arrive and I will have a brand new QL :)


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2625
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Reset Switch

Postby RWAP » Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:40 pm

[quote="retro_collector"]Ok Folks mystery solved,

Once I took apart the reset switch I knew immediately what the problem was.

Anyone want to venture a guess?/quote]

The little piece of copper was missing...


retro_collector
Brittle Membrane
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:26 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: Reset Switch

Postby retro_collector » Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:35 pm

Before

IMG_4020.jpg


After

Screen Shot 2019-08-21 at 4.30.24 PM.png


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1409
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Reset Switch

Postby Derek_Stewart » Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:42 pm

Hi,

Good news you have found the fault. This what I was saying in amother thread.

The copper insert that makes contact with the reset circuit, sometimes the contact is missing or damaged due to incorrect installation.

No amount of oil would fixed this fault.


Regards,

Derek

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests