Coding partner sought...

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
Dave
SandySuperQDave

Coding partner sought...

Post by Dave »

Here's a brief outline on some projects I am working on. The main reason for 'slowly' is because I am not a programmer.

Fast, modern serial card:
Using a 16C754 UART or similar - fast serial interface with FIFOs and expansion possibilities.

Looking for someone to write a driver, loaded or in ROM. All documentation provided, receive prototype and finished hardware, which you can keep. Flat fee offered, or share of sales. Resulting hardware will be open sourced, but the driver may or may not be depending on your wishes. I would not be critiquing your code -

This is critical to implement some other key tech on the QL in a pleasing way.

Video frame buffer:
Raspberry Pi C++ and/or ARM assembly programmer sought to co-develop novel frame buffer video card for the QL. Can be provided all hardware and documentation, which can be kept. Based on the CM3 module and a custom board, will implement dual port RAM and support the basic QL modes with small changes - notably FLASH will be changed to BRITE. If nobody offers to co-operate on this, I can reasonably muddle through by myself but it would go a lot more quickly. This is a speculative side project to discover the capabilities of the memory mapped GPIO of the Broadcom BCM2837. To minimise IO, BCM would increment an external address counter. Options exist to use traditional dual port SRAM with an A and B port, or to use a dual port RAM that has a traditional A port and SAM b-port. Third option is to use a memory switching technique using VERY fast RAM to steal dead cycles from the CPU.

Goals: HDMI output, extended resolutions, palette capability, separate image scanning and frame rate by using a full frame buffer.