QL wont work

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
Traindriver69
ROM Dongle
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:42 pm

QL wont work

Postby Traindriver69 » Sat Sep 22, 2018 10:31 am

Hi all
I have a QL and when I plug it in there is a quick spurt of the microdrive motors the power light is lit and thats about it.
I have tried to tune it in to a tv but all I get is a very out of tune colour blob.
I have had a quick test of the voltage regulator and get the correct voltages one side but the other which should be between 4.75 and 5.25 I get about 7.5 anyone got any ideas.
many thanks in advance


User avatar
belg4rion67
Trump Card
Posts: 188
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:15 pm
Location: Milan - Italy

Re: QL wont work

Postby belg4rion67 » Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:16 pm

Hi, on the voltage regulator you must have 9-10 volt on right pin that is the output voltage of transformer and 5 volt on left pin to drive all chips on motherboard, also you can check pin 14 of video driver chip ( the one below modulator) where you must have 12 volt.


Only original hardware! :)
Traindriver69
ROM Dongle
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: QL wont work

Postby Traindriver69 » Sat Sep 22, 2018 3:30 pm

hi
yes i get over 9volts on the right but on the left instead of 5volts I get 7.5volts.
many thanks


Traindriver69
ROM Dongle
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: QL wont work

Postby Traindriver69 » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:01 pm

and getting 12.10volts at video chip


martyn_hill
Super Gold Card
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:53 am

Re: QL wont work

Postby martyn_hill » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:31 pm

Hi Traindriver

So, sounds like the 5V regulation is fried.

If that 5V is being generated by the standard linear 78x05 regulator (screwed to the black fin-heatsink), then they are easy and cheap enough to replace.

If you have instead one of the various switched DC-DC converters mini-boards fitted in place of the linear regulator, you could try replacing first with another 78x05 to test out everything else and then ask Tetroid or Dave (available elsewhere on the forum) for one of their switched DC converters...

M.


Traindriver69
ROM Dongle
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: QL wont work

Postby Traindriver69 » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:49 pm

Hi
It is a standard one fixed to the heatsink but would this of caused any more damage elsewhere if it's putting out too much volts.


martyn_hill
Super Gold Card
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:53 am

Re: QL wont work

Postby martyn_hill » Sat Sep 22, 2018 5:12 pm

Hi - quite possibly - but replacing it with a working 78x05 won't cause any further damage and will give you a clue as to what might need replacing thereafter :-)


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1585
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: QL wont work

Postby tofro » Sat Sep 22, 2018 5:13 pm

Traindriver69 wrote:Hi
It is a standard one fixed to the heatsink but would this of caused any more damage elsewhere if it's putting out too much volts.



If you really had 7.5 Volts on the 5V rail, this has probably caused a lot more damage in all places - Some of the more robust chips might survive this for a few minutes, some others probably die within a few seconds. Expect to replace a lot of chips - Fortunately, most of the hardware can still be bought at very reasonable prices.

I would start fixing the power supply and find out what else has been fried.

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
Traindriver69
ROM Dongle
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: QL wont work

Postby Traindriver69 » Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:28 am

I am going to try and get a regulator today once installed which points on the board are best to test next
Many thanks


djouniot
ROM Dongle
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:15 am

Re: QL wont work

Postby djouniot » Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:32 pm

Hello,

If you don't want to create more destruction (and perhaps redestroy the regulator). The best solution is to have a regulated alimentation (laboratory). You can fix teh voltage and the intensity. The regulated alimentation prevent the over intenisity consumption (cut or regul). then this avoid to have o much intensity in the sensible circuit.

Best regards.
Dominique



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests