Tetroid 5V replacement module didn't fit into the QL

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
thesithlord
ROM Dongle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:37 pm

Tetroid 5V replacement module didn't fit into the QL

Postby thesithlord » Tue May 08, 2018 6:42 pm

Hi everybody,

I bought a few things for my QL, one was the replacement module. This didn't fit.Image

any Tips?
Thx


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2524
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Tetroid 5V replacement module didn't fit into the QL

Postby RWAP » Tue May 08, 2018 7:26 pm

Hmm - you have a US QL (or at least a Samsung one) which has that weird round magnet (?) by the power connector... Tetroid probably does not have that version of the motherboard.

What doesn't fit? Is it the microdrive regulator that is in the way - I can't see the problem on the photo


thesithlord
ROM Dongle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:37 pm

Re: Tetroid 5V replacement module didn't fit into the QL

Postby thesithlord » Tue May 08, 2018 7:31 pm

It's the ring that blocks to fit it:

Image

and it seems that it can't be removed or is there a possibility?


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2524
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Tetroid 5V replacement module didn't fit into the QL

Postby RWAP » Tue May 08, 2018 7:38 pm

Dave on here is probably the best one to answer that....

Tetroid is also on these forums - he needs to take a look and probably needs to change his design :(


thesithlord
ROM Dongle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:37 pm

Re: Tetroid 5V replacement module didn't fit into the QL

Postby thesithlord » Tue May 08, 2018 8:00 pm

Maybe somebody has a manual to remove the magnetic ring and wires without breaking the QL?


tetroid
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 7:36 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: Tetroid 5V replacement module didn't fit into the QL

Postby tetroid » Tue May 08, 2018 8:54 pm

I am sorry about this problem.

Yes, this is my mistake.

I did not have this QL version.

Nobody did not inform me about this problem early.

I need redesign the QL power.


User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2012
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Tetroid 5V replacement module didn't fit into the QL

Postby Dave » Wed May 09, 2018 7:24 am

Email me your mailing address and I’ll send you a smaller replacement free of charge if you’re in the US.

dave@sinclairql.com



Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest