QubIDE 3.10

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
genetika
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Rome, ITALY
Contact:

QubIDE 3.10

Postby genetika » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:09 am

Hi
I updated my original qubide to version 3.10
( new gal chips, new rom)
The interface boot well With super Gold card
But it was not able to detect Cf card ...
Any suggestions
Thanks!
Attachments
8991769F-96F9-403D-93D8-2E2F685DECB2.jpeg


HAOUI
ROM Dongle
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: QubIDE 3.10

Postby HAOUI » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:11 pm

I presume you are using some ide to cf card adapter. So it may depend on how this adapter is powered.
Generally adapters are powered either with a 5 volts floppy type connector or by pin 20 from the ide connector itself.
Unfortunately original qubide doesn't supply the 5v power on pin 20 (clone does). In this case you may connect a 5volts wire to pin 20 on your qubide interface.
Also, some adapters have a master/slave selector or a cable autoselect feature. In this latest case, there is a little mod to do on the qubide interface itself.
Could you supply more information about used adapter.
Alain


User avatar
genetika
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Rome, ITALY
Contact:

Re: QubIDE 3.10

Postby genetika » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:32 pm

The cf to ide adapter is powered....
I tried 2 different adapters and 2 different cf card ...
(2GB, 4gb ) Some Problems ..
With previous version all was good...
I don’t know ..
Could be the qubide unit damaged !?
Thanks


HAOUI
ROM Dongle
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: QubIDE 3.10

Postby HAOUI » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:55 pm

Have you tried to connect any previous working ide disk to the upgraded qubide ?
Could you tell me what the driver displays on boot please ?
Regards
Alain


User avatar
Artificer
ROM Dongle
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:43 am

Re: QubIDE 3.10

Postby Artificer » Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:01 pm

Hi Genetika

I use a CF adapter with CF card as hard drive for my Aurora setup - Aurora/SuperGoldCard/Qubide and Alain's Qubide driver. This adapter dose work http://qlheaven.blogspot.co.uk/2017/07/compact-flash-card-ide-adapter-and.html Dilwyn has also posted on his blog that he uses the same adapter. I got mine from Amazon. I does need 5 volts as Alain explained and a 40 to 44 pin IDE adapter as well.


User avatar
genetika
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Rome, ITALY
Contact:

Re: QubIDE 3.10

Postby genetika » Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:40 am

HAOUI wrote:Have you tried to connect any previous working ide disk to the upgraded qubide ?
Could you tell me what the driver displays on boot please ?
Regards
Alain


Hi Alan,

TIMING CALIBRATION ....
DETECTION ...

... and after non disks were listed

WIN_DISK show .... shows nothing ... :-(

M.


HAOUI
ROM Dongle
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: QubIDE 3.10

Postby HAOUI » Mon Apr 30, 2018 5:16 pm

I think we have to be sure firstly the upgrade is ok before searching issues on cf card adapter or cf card incompatibly.

This is why I asked to connect a normal ide hard disk if possible and make sure GAL ships are placed in the good order respectively.

Also, try to restart driver after boot with win_restart from command line.

Regards,
Alain


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2494
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: QubIDE 3.10

Postby RWAP » Mon Apr 30, 2018 7:44 pm

I have to admit, I have always struggled with QubIDE and formatting disks / CF cards.

What am I missing?

I have a Tetroid DIsk Interface, with the latest ROM. My CF card was working fine on the QL, but I then tried the PC utility for copying files onto the QubIDE formatted CF card, and seem to have corrupted it. The PC utility no longer reports a QubIDE formatted CF card.

The QL says disk not found.

I try:

WIN_FORMAT 1
FORMAT win1_

and it fails immediately.


HAOUI
ROM Dongle
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: QubIDE 3.10

Postby HAOUI » Tue May 01, 2018 12:09 pm

Hi Rich,
I don't see What happenned with pc utility but it seems that it corrupted partition 1 on the cf card.
The lake with data structure on qubide disk is the fact that partitions table resides inside partition 1 at sector zero (i never liked this but it is compatibility requirement ).
In this case you have to initialize the disk and recreate partitions before format.

Win_format 1
Win_disk initialize,1
Win_disk create, 1,sizeinmega
Win_drive 1,1,1
Format win1_name

Other partitions will be lost unless you are able to patch sector zero manually or with special utility.

Regards,
Alain


Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: QubIDE 3.10

Postby Derek_Stewart » Tue May 01, 2018 7:50 pm

Hi Rich,

What PC utility are you using? the Habi Image Editor....

I have used that to import data onto a CF Disk for use in the Tetroid Trump Card. All works okay for me.

With regards to Alain's Qubide drivers they work perfectly with the Tetroid hardware. But I have refer to the manual to remind myself of the WIN_ commands.


Regards,

Derek

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests