Problem with making partitions

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
kordics
ROM Dongle
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Kotor, Montenegro

Problem with making partitions

Postby kordics » Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:36 pm

Hi dear QL-ists!

I have a problem with making partition on a CF card. I have QL with JM Rom, at the moment, and a Tetroid interface with CF card storage. It works with the supplied CF perfectly.

However, when I put an another CF and I try to make partition I run into problem. Maybe someone will know what am I doing wrong. Here is the list of commands and replays of the computer:

WIN_FORMAT 1

WIN_DISK INIT,1
SanDisk SDCFH-2048
Initialize disk (Y/N) ?

WIN DISK SHOW
Device Model
[ 1] SanDisk SDCFH-2048

WIN_DISK DETAILS,1
Model Name : SanDisk SDCFH-2048
CHS Geometry : [ 3970][ 16][ 63]
Device Type : DirAccs [X] CDROM [ ]
Protocol : ATA/IDE [X] ATAPI [ ]
Media support : Removab [X] UnRemov [ ]
Packet size : 12Bytes [ ] 16Bytes [ ]

WIN_DISK CREATE,1,1,128
Alter partitions (Y/N) ?

WIN_DRIVE 1,1,1
bad or changed medium

WIN_DISK SUMMARY,1
Part(n) First(C) Size(C) FAT(B) Blck(S)
[ 1] [ 0] [ 261] [ 33] [ 8]
bad or changed medium

Thanks for help!

Regards,
Stevan
Last edited by kordics on Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.


HAOUI
ROM Dongle
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Promlem with making partitions

Postby HAOUI » Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:16 am

Hi Stevan,
Are you using a real true cf card or a SD memory card in cf to sd adapter ?
Alain


User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2016
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Promlem with making partitions

Postby Dave » Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:37 am

I have one. It is a type I 3v3 and 5v0 compact flash card, 2GB, standard type, 15 mbytes/sec. Exact same model number. Works well on my standard driver QubIDE.


User avatar
kordics
ROM Dongle
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Kotor, Montenegro

Re: Promlem with making partitions

Postby kordics » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:59 am

Hi Haoui & Dave!

I use real CF card. I have also tried with an another CF to make partitions, unfortunately with the same result "bad or changed medium" after WIN_DRIVE 1,1,1 command. I hope it is some JM ROM issue. I'm waiting ROM switcher with JS & Minerva on it, which will work fine I hope.

Thanks for your feedback!

Kind regardas,
Stevan Kordic


HAOUI
ROM Dongle
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Promlem with making partitions

Postby HAOUI » Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:48 am

No, it is not a js rom problem.
You have only missed initialization the new cf card which is necessary once before creating first partition.

This could be made with :

WIN_FORMAT 1
WIN_DISK INIT,1

And then proceed to make partitions and format.

Alain


User avatar
kordics
ROM Dongle
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Kotor, Montenegro

Re: Problem with making partitions

Postby kordics » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:11 am

Hi Alain!

I haven't missed:

WIN_FORMAT 1
WIN_DISK INIT,1

These are exactly first two commands I gave in order to make a partition. You can see it from the listing in my original post. Also, I have JM ROM, which may be cause of the problem. I'll get JS ROM & Minerva soon and I'll try to make a partition on a CF card with them.

Saluti,
Stevan


HAOUI
ROM Dongle
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Problem with making partitions

Postby HAOUI » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:40 am

Ah, sorry I didn't catch it :0(

Anyway I still thinking it is not a rom version problem.

Almost of problems that I have encountered was a voltage issue or a real incompatible cf cards (unfortunately not all cards work on all controllers even on PCs or cameras).

Could you please tell me what system are you using : Is it a regulated 5volts or original 9volts and are jumpers on your tetroid card set according to this ?

Also, how many ram are you using ?


User avatar
kordics
ROM Dongle
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Kotor, Montenegro

Re: Problem with making partitions

Postby kordics » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:13 pm

Hi Alain!

Maybe it is a compatibility issue. I have tried with two SanDisk CF cards 2GB & 8GB. I try to find some other CF card to try with it. I received with Tetroid 4G CF card and it works correctly. The jumpers on Tetroid interface are set as I have received them: all three J1, J2 & J3 on. That means additional 768 KB of RAM, floppy interface enabled & QUBIDE/QUBATA interface enabled. I believe voltage is original 9 volts.

I will find some other manufacturer CF card and try to make partition with it.

Thank you very much for your help!

Saluti,
Stevan


HAOUI
ROM Dongle
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Problem with making partitions

Postby HAOUI » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:30 pm

There are 2 others jumpers j4/j5 on tetroid allowing select 5v/9v but may be not all produced tetroid have this jumpers. If they are here, you should remove them for 9v (default for original ql). If no, this means your tetroid card has an auto switch capability.

Have you tried adding new partitions on your original cf card supplied by tetroid ? If this work, so probably problem is a make compatibility. Try others models.

Alain


User avatar
jivrt
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Puerto Varas, Chile

Re: Problem with making partitions

Postby jivrt » Thu Jul 05, 2018 1:02 am

Dear all

I was so happy when my TDI tetroid interface arrived yesterday! It seems to be working alright.

When I inserted my CF card, the same one used in this post, I come with the following

WIN_FORMAT 1

WIN_DISK INIT,1
SanDisk SDCFH-2048
Initialize disk (Y/N) ?

WIN DISK SHOW
Device Model
[ 1] SanDisk SDCFH-2048

WIN_DISK DETAILS,1
Model Name : SanDisk SDCFH-2048
CHS Geometry : [ 3970][ 16][ 63]
Device Type : DirAccs [X] CDROM [ ]
Protocol : ATA/IDE [X] ATAPI [ ]
Media support : Removab [X] UnRemov [ ]
Packet size : 12Bytes [ ] 16Bytes [ ]

WIN_DISK CREATE,1,1,128
Alter partitions (Y/N) ?

WIN_DRIVE 1,1,1
FAT is WRONG - Try reboot
bad or changed medium

Is it that this card is not compatible with TDI?


Original BBQL 1985, bought my me in Spain with JM ROM
Tetroid TDI with CF card, ROM switcher, power regulator, Gold Card clone and Backplane
Uses: teaching my children to program

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests