Replacement microdrive pads what to use

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
Traindriver69
Chuggy Microdrive

Replacement microdrive pads what to use

Post by Traindriver69 »

Hi all
I am new to the world of the QL and trying to work things out my problem is the only microdrive cartridges I had which were new old stock from sell my retro have decided to lose there pads all at once.
So now I have no cartridges (I am waiting for 20 used cartridges coming but they will probably want replacing as well)I know there was a source of replacement pads but they are no longer available so is there a substitute I can use or has anyone got any of the replacement pads that I could buy off them.
Any help would be appreciated.
Cheers
Mark

martyn_hill
Aurora

Re: Replacement microdrive pads what to use

Post by martyn_hill »

Hi Mark

Been there, done that, too!

Whilst my 2nd-hand MDV cartridges still only last a week or so after 'pad-repair', its buying me time whilst I build my own RAM and NV RAM (in place of EPROM) expansion so that I can run some simple programs straight from the NV RAM without ever having to rely on another MDV again!

I have been using (to get the aforementioned few weeks of life out of my cartridges) some double-sided sticky-pads, spliced in half (they are too thick and you need a non-sticky side...) and then cut to the appropriate size using a craft knife. Getting quite a dab-hand at it now...

You will see reference on this forum to a gentleman called 'Dave' who used to fabricate such pads, but is currently taken-up with real-life again.

We are all waiting for Dave's next QL project :-)

Dave
SandySuperQDave

Post by Dave »

You might be waiting a while. :)