sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Discussion and advice about emulating the QL on other machines.
Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby Derek_Stewart » Sat Feb 05, 2022 10:11 pm

Hi,

I can read QWA files, FLP image files, BDI image file on sQLux.

How can I read/write to MDV image files?


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
XorA
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby XorA » Sat Feb 05, 2022 10:20 pm

Derek_Stewart wrote:Hi,

I can read QWA files, FLP image files, BDI image file on sQLux.

How can I read/write to MDV image files?


Using the MDI driver?


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby Derek_Stewart » Sat Feb 05, 2022 11:04 pm

Hi

Yes I use MDI just wondered if there was a ntive MDV driver available in sqlux.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
XorA
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby XorA » Sat Feb 05, 2022 11:17 pm

Derek_Stewart wrote:Hi

Yes I use MDI just wondered if there was a ntive MDV driver available in sqlux.


No, I have not really touched the disk support code from uQLx. The infrastructure is all there though if someone wanted to add that!


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby Derek_Stewart » Tue Feb 08, 2022 6:06 pm

XorA wrote:
Derek_Stewart wrote:Hi

Yes I use MDI just wondered if there was a ntive MDV driver available in sqlux.


No, I have not really touched the disk support code from uQLx. The infrastructure is all there though if someone wanted to add that!

The MDV format has multiple formats, so I prefer to FLP format images, this more compatible from sQLux to Q68 with FDI.

I converted all my DP Software collection to FLP image so I can use them on the Q68 and FDI, maybe sQLux.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
XorA
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby XorA » Mon May 02, 2022 8:49 pm

Release v1.0.5 now contains the sound and joystick code from @Exile

It also has changes to qdos-like filesystem stuff, this may expose bugs, there was one fixed for release that I discovered at last minute.

My plans are a major re-write of the qdos-like file code soon (ish).


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby Derek_Stewart » Tue May 03, 2022 3:26 pm

Hi Xora,

I downloaded your new update, compiled okay and runs very well, I thought the documentation is good as well.

Well done.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
ppe
Trump Card
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby ppe » Tue May 03, 2022 7:34 pm

Congrats on the release and a big thank you for maintaining and improving sQLux!


User avatar
Ruptor
Gold Card
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 2:23 pm
Location: London

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby Ruptor » Wed May 04, 2022 2:02 pm

XorA wrote:Release v1.0.5 now contains the sound and joystick code from @Exile
Thanks for the update. I know OS like tyche bigger than the standard ROM that work in the real world don't in emulators but if say the top of the ROM that exceeds the 48K is chopped and put as
SYSROM = tyche48k.rom
ROMIM = tychetop16k.rom
would that work?


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)

Postby Derek_Stewart » Wed May 04, 2022 4:42 pm

Ruptor wrote:
XorA wrote:Release v1.0.5 now contains the sound and joystick code from @Exile
Thanks for the update. I know OS like tyche bigger than the standard ROM that work in the real world don't in emulators but if say the top of the ROM that exceeds the 48K is chopped and put as
SYSROM = tyche48k.rom
ROMIM = tychetop16k.rom
would that work?

Hi

I tried a while back, but it did not run very well.

What is in the 16K in the ROMIM section?

I would use Minerva, much operating system.


Regards,

Derek

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest