Q-emuLator 1.3 for Mac - floppies not recognised

Discussion and advice about emulating the QL on other machines.
User avatar
Sparrowhawk
Trump Card
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: @131072
Contact:

Q-emuLator 1.3 for Mac - floppies not recognised

Postby Sparrowhawk » Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:26 pm

Hi Daniele,

I have v1.3 installed on El Capitan 10.11.6. I am trying to read floppies that I have tested on a BBQL - they work there, but when I insert them into the Mac, choose "Ignore" as per the manual, I get the "not found" error when trying to dir, either with or without the drive name (ie dir flp1_, dir mdv1_, or just dir)

Minerva ROM 1.97, TK2 enabled.

I assign slot 1 to the floppy drive (USB, works fine for reading DOS disks under Mac) and the text changes to <floppy>. Whether I do this before I insert the disk or after I do so, it makes no difference.

I have also tested the disks in Q-EmuLator for Windows 3.2 and they work there, so there is a means for me to transfer data from the disks to my Mac but it's rather long winded.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks for any help you can offer,
JY


a.k.a. Jean-Yves !
User avatar
Sparrowhawk
Trump Card
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: @131072
Contact:

Re: Q-emuLator 1.3 for Mac - floppies not recognised

Postby Sparrowhawk » Sun Apr 29, 2018 10:51 am

PS. I meant to add that I have also rested with the JS ROM just in case that had a bearing on things, but still the problem persists .


a.k.a. Jean-Yves !
User avatar
Outsoft
Super Gold Card
Posts: 644
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Q-emuLator 1.3 for Mac - floppies not recognised

Postby Outsoft » Sun Apr 29, 2018 8:26 pm

Sparrowhawk wrote:PS. I meant to add that I have also rested with the JS ROM just in case that had a bearing on things, but still the problem persists .


The problem is the structure of the new OSX's: there are many limitations for floppy access.

Daniele told me that there isn't a solution from now: I would like to use it too because now I'm passing through a Parallels VM with XP on it for use the Floppy drive on my MAC :-)


User avatar
Sparrowhawk
Trump Card
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: @131072
Contact:

Re: Q-emuLator 1.3 for Mac - floppies not recognised

Postby Sparrowhawk » Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:51 am

Thanks - after you posted that I remembered that Apple had indeed killed off floppy support for OS X from version 10.11 (El Capitan) onwards. Grrr! Bad fruity company! Bad!

I don't have a spare XP license to hand, and anyway I suspect that new activations might no longer work anyway as it's out of its support period I think. However, I do have a copy of Windows 2000 Pro running in VirtualBox for when I need to read old files that clients occasionally send me that require some legacy software. Do you know if v1.x of Q-emulator would run on Win2K? I assume v3 would not.

Update: I just checked, I have my 1.x license but I appear to have lost the 1.x installation files. Would somebody be able to provide me with the 1.x installer as it's no longer available on Daniele's site (unless I missed it?) - to be clear, I am not asking for a license, I already have a legitimately bought one, just the actual installation files.


a.k.a. Jean-Yves !
User avatar
Sparrowhawk
Trump Card
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: @131072
Contact:

Re: Q-emuLator 1.3 for Mac - floppies not recognised

Postby Sparrowhawk » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:02 am

Oops. My old license is for v2, not v1. I was reading the details for the Mac version by accident.. Anyway, I don't have the v2 file either, so my request now changes to: can anyone supply me the 2.x installer file?


a.k.a. Jean-Yves !
User avatar
Sparrowhawk
Trump Card
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: @131072
Contact:

Re: Q-emuLator 1.3 for Mac - floppies not recognised

Postby Sparrowhawk » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:35 am

I just tried installing v3.2 on Windows 2000.... it works!!! That is really impressive. Great backwards compatibility there from Daniele.

Unfortunately I get an error when trying to attach a disk drive. (when i click on Microdrive slot, Attach Floppy, A:)

See attached screenshot.

Outsoft, how did you manage it with your VM?

Update: I also added an empty disk attachment to the Floppy Disk controller for force the floppy icon to appear in the VM. This stopped the error, however, I cannot access the real floppy disk, only disk images.
Attachments
qem32_win2k_vbox.jpg
win2k_vbox_settings.jpg


a.k.a. Jean-Yves !
User avatar
M68008
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:55 am
Contact:

Re: Q-emuLator 1.3 for Mac - floppies not recognised

Postby M68008 » Sat May 19, 2018 9:10 pm

Hi Sparrowhawk,

since Q-emuLator for OS X was released, Apple has tightened raw access to floppy disks. See http://qemulator.blogspot.com/2014/02/o ... ccess.html for some advice, although the exact procedure varies depending on the version of OS X (for example, you may need to switch to the root user in addition to those steps). An alternative could be to create floppy images with dd.

Not sure about the Win2000 issue, it's probably related to running in the VM.



Return to “QL Emulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest