Noisy QPC2 machine

Discussion and advice about emulating the QL on other machines.
User avatar
pjw
Gold Card
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 8:44 am
Location: Norway

Re: Noisy QPC2 machine

Postby pjw » Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:11 pm

Threads.jpg
Of course, its difficult to get a PC-side snap of whats going on in QPC2 full screen mode, so this is the best I could do. Its a bit on the low side compared with normal misbehaviour, which shows about 50-54%. I hope it tells you something..


Per
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.
- H. L. Mencken
User avatar
mk79
Trump Card
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:54 am

Re: Noisy QPC2 machine

Postby mk79 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:42 pm

Hm, difficult to tell without symbols. But please click the "Stack" button on the CPU thread and show the result. And perhaps 3 times to see how it differs over time


User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2011
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Noisy QPC2 machine

Postby Dave » Fri Mar 23, 2018 9:29 pm

What happened when you checked all the files against a clean install? Maybe one of them had been modified to carry a payload?


User avatar
pjw
Gold Card
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 8:44 am
Location: Norway

Re: Noisy QPC2 machine

Postby pjw » Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:22 pm

mk79 wrote:Hm, difficult to tell without symbols. But please click the "Stack" button on the CPU thread and show the result. And perhaps 3 times to see how it differs over time

min 09
QPC2.exe+0x1a6c5
QPC2.exe+0x23f0a
QPC2.exe+0x23f94
QPC2.exe+0x1a6c5
QPC2.exe+0x1d56b
QPC2.exe+0x19a65
QPC2.exe+0xc9af
QPC2.exe+0x23f0a
QPC2.exe+0x23f94
ntdll.dll!RtlInitializeExceptionChain+0x36
QPC2.exe+0x23f30

15
QPC2.exe+0x1d5d7
QPC2.exe+0x19a65
QPC2.exe+0x1d5d7
QPC2.exe+0x19a65
QPC2.exe+0xc9af
QPC2.exe+0x23f0a
QPC2.exe+0x23f94
ntdll.dll!RtlInitializeExceptionChain+0x36
QPC2.exe+0x23f30

19
QPC2.exe+0x1dad1
QPC2.exe+0x19a65
QPC2.exe+0x1dad1
QPC2.exe+0x19a65
QPC2.exe+0xc9af
QPC2.exe+0x23f0a
QPC2.exe+0x23f94
ntdll.dll!RtlInitializeExceptionChain+0x36
QPC2.exe+0x23f30


Per
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.
- H. L. Mencken
User avatar
pjw
Gold Card
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 8:44 am
Location: Norway

Re: Noisy QPC2 machine

Postby pjw » Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:37 pm

Dave wrote:What happened when you checked all the files against a clean install? Maybe one of them had been modified to carry a payload?
Nope, its not that. I did a clean install to another folder. Started up a blank instance (no boot). Same same.


Per
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.
- H. L. Mencken
User avatar
mk79
Trump Card
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:54 am

Re: Noisy QPC2 machine

Postby mk79 » Sat Mar 24, 2018 12:55 am

I think I now know what's going on. Later Windows versions apparently started to send mouse messages to the window the mouse is in even if the mouse hasn't moved. The mouse messages however are one of the criteria that prohibit QPC from sleeping. And as you're using QPC in fullscreen mode the mouse is always in the window... I guess if you switch to windowed mode and move the mouse to another application the CPU utilization will cease.

The fix is pretty easy, but the QPC2 v4 line is dead. I have rewritten large parts of QPC2 and there will be a QPC2 v5 eventually, but until then the fix will have to wait.

Cheers, Marcel


User avatar
pjw
Gold Card
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 8:44 am
Location: Norway

Re: Noisy QPC2 machine

Postby pjw » Sat Mar 24, 2018 11:49 am

mk79 wrote:I think I now know what's going on. Later Windows versions apparently started to send mouse messages to the window the mouse is in even if the mouse hasn't moved. The mouse messages however are one of the criteria that prohibit QPC from sleeping. And as you're using QPC in fullscreen mode the mouse is always in the window... I guess if you switch to windowed mode and move the mouse to another application the CPU utilization will cease.
Well done! Thanks!

The fix is pretty easy, but the QPC2 v4 line is dead. I have rewritten large parts of QPC2 and there will be a QPC2 v5 eventually, but until then the fix will have to wait.
I can live with that (provided I can hold my breath that long.. ;))


Per
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.
- H. L. Mencken

Return to “QL Emulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest