QPC2 and physical flp1_

Discussion and advice about emulating the QL on other machines.
mhanias
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:12 pm

QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby mhanias » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:01 pm

I have an Asrock 980/SE motherboard with floppy controller on motherboard and windows 8.1.
With QPC2 4.02 I can format a floppy disk but the dir command doses not work. On the other hand it works fine with Q emulator. Also the QPC2 cannot read HD or DD disks from original QL + Gold card.
Attachments
QL.jpg


RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2731
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby RWAP » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:46 pm

Is it an external (USB) floppy disk drive, or one connected directly to the motherboard?

Windows has a lot of problems with USB floppy disk drives, because they do not have a proper floppy controller chip!


mhanias
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:12 pm

Re: QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby mhanias » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:49 pm

It is directly connected with motherboard


User avatar
tofro
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2015
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby tofro » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:12 pm

You can try to reduce the step rate with flip_step

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
mhanias
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:12 pm

Re: QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby mhanias » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:49 am

I think QPC2 does not supports flp_rate .

Thanks

Michael


User avatar
tofro
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 2015
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby tofro » Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:35 pm

Oh, yes, right:

FLP_SEC, FLP_START and FLP_STEP
QPC has no influence over how the Windows disk driver works, therefore these commands are ig-nored.


You could then maybe play around with flp_density. According to the manual, QPC2 will assume a HD disk by default.

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
mhanias
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:12 pm

Re: QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby mhanias » Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:33 pm

Surprisingly the QPC2 3.34 beta works fine!!!


stevepoole
Gold Card
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:03 pm

Re: QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby stevepoole » Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:26 pm

Hi,
Why not use a USB key with the DOS device?
Steve.


User avatar
Peter
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:47 am

Re: QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby Peter » Wed Jan 14, 2015 12:34 pm

The QL can not access such an USB device.


Martin_Head
Super Gold Card
Posts: 531
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:17 pm

Re: QPC2 and physical flp1_

Postby Martin_Head » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:03 am

In the screen shot it shows 'format flp1_' with no medium name supplied. Do you get the same problem when you supply a medium name? e.g. 'format flp1_test'.

QPC2 v4 supports floppy disk image files. What if use a PC program to convert the disk created by the QL+Gold card into a image files, and then see if QPC2 v4 will read it.

You say that QPC2 v3.34 works OK. So that suggests that the QL+Gold card's floppy disk drives are working OK. However you may have alignment problems (or just worn out) floppy drives in either the QL or PC, Making odd incompatibilities. What if you try FLP2_ on the QL, or change the floppy drive in the PC.

Just an odd thought - What version of Windows are you using? I think there is some issue in the later versions that they don't support DD disks anymore.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests