Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

A place to discuss general QL issues.

Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Poll ended at Mon Apr 22, 2019 12:21 am

Yes
12
67%
No
6
33%
 
Total votes: 18
User avatar
SinclairSociety
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:17 pm

Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby SinclairSociety » Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:21 am

Wondering how many here that own an original QL are using a mouse on theirs.

Feel free to elaborate on what you use the mouse for such as a GUI of some kind or particular apps that can use one.

Maybe even offer brand and type of mouse being used and how it interfaces to the QL.

Thanks

TJ


Sinclair Computers are AWESOME!!
Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby Andrew » Fri Apr 12, 2019 7:32 am

I wish !
Could not make it work on my original QL.


User avatar
Artificer
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:43 am

Re: Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby Artificer » Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:42 am

For the original QL there were several mouse options. I use the SuperHermes serial mouse, unfortunately the boards are no longer available. Sometimes the QIMI mouse board comes up on ebay. There is the serial mouse project by Simon Goodwin published in QLWorld. Serial mice themselves are hard to come by these days.

Cheers


Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby Andrew » Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:28 am

Artificer wrote: Serial mice themselves are hard to come by these days.


I have 8 serial mice - none work on my QL
Also I have a smart PS2 2 Serial convertor - works on all old computers, except my QL :(
I will install the Hermes chip and see if that fixes it


User avatar
NormanDunbar
Super Gold Card
Posts: 735
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby NormanDunbar » Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:08 am

SerMouse was the one that worked for me. I think I still have the mouse and the cable I made up/bought/stole/borrowed to adapt it for use on the QL. Somewhere.... (It's in a safe place!)

Cheers,
Norm.


Why do they put lightning conductors on churches?
If at first you don't succeed, don't take up skydiving!
If you think your job is pointless, remember, there's someone in Germany who fits indicators to BMWs.
User avatar
Tesla
ROM Dongle
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby Tesla » Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:08 pm

Yes I do. My configuration is Superhermes + sermouse driver and, obviously, serial mouse. The cable is homemade, following the instructions of sermouse manual. All the hardware is connected to SER2 and it works fine :)
However the ball mouse, in comparison to modern optical mice, is something painful to use. :x

Hello to everybody


User avatar
Cristian
Super Gold Card
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:40 pm
Location: Veneto

Re: Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby Cristian » Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:45 pm

I use an old PC serial mouse, with Sermouse driver.
Today are available also brand new optical serial mice. A friend of mine purchased one and works fine with QL.


Andrew
Trump Card
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby Andrew » Fri Apr 12, 2019 1:01 pm

Cristian wrote:I use an old PC serial mouse, with Sermouse driver.
Today are available also brand new optical serial mice. A friend of mine purchased one and works fine with QL.

Cristian, please can you send me your configured sermouse driver, the one that you are using ?


User avatar
Cristian
Super Gold Card
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:40 pm
Location: Veneto

Re: Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby Cristian » Fri Apr 12, 2019 1:03 pm

I'm using 2 configurations: one for Minerva, the other for non-Minerva. Which do you want?


User avatar
Artificer
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:43 am

Re: Poll: Do you use a Mouse on your QL ?

Postby Artificer » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:46 pm

Hi,

Andrew wrote
Also I have a smart PS2 2 Serial convertor - works on all old computers, except my QL


It might be the PS2 mouse. Not all PS2 mice know the serial protocol but again PS2/Serial mice are rare these days. http://qlheaven.blogspot.com/2017/08/mouse-woes.html


The Q68 which I have has a PS2 mouse connection but I found that a modern PS2 mouse did not work with it and am using an old USB mouse from Tesco with a USB to serial adapter which works perfectly.

Cheers



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests