how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Helpful tips and guides, also new users can ask for help here.
User avatar
nitrofurano
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:48 am

how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by nitrofurano »

hi!
i found some superbasic code in .bas txt files at
https://archive.org/details/Sinclair_QL ... 2012_04_23

but i have no idea how can we run them, which emulator is better for it, what must we do for running them, etc. - any ideas?

(until now i was still only using mame/mess for emulating ql mostly)

(btw, i think that some ql entries to csscgc compos were submitted in the same way, superbasic .bas txt files

thanks!


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Sunny Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by Derek_Stewart »

Hi,

Download the zip archive file and extract the contents, which more zip archives, unzip all these, which creates more subdirectories with the basic file located in the subdirectory.

Then use the LOAD command to load the basic file.

I suppose you could get unzip to ignore the subdirectories.

The zip archive looks to only hold basic files, which are actually ASCII text files so no QDOS header to worry about.
Last edited by Derek_Stewart on Thu Mar 07, 2024 12:23 am, edited 1 time in total.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
nitrofurano
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:48 am

Re: how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by nitrofurano »

thanks.. and i mount these subdirectories as "imagedisks" somehow? and on which emulators should i do it? (mame/mess? qpc2? qemulator? qlay? or any other emulator?)


User avatar
XorA
Site Admin
Posts: 1359
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK

Re: how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by XorA »

nitrofurano wrote:thanks.. and i mount these subdirectories as "imagedisks" somehow? and on which emulators should i do it? (mame/mess? qpc2? qemulator? qlay? or any other emulator?)
If you use Q-Emulator (its well worth paying for) you can just use zip files as disks.


User avatar
XorA
Site Admin
Posts: 1359
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK

Re: how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by XorA »

Cant help feel sorry for you messing with the poor quality TOSEC archive though.

Have you discovered http://www.dilwyn.me.uk where most of the software is present in better form with in a lot of cases instructions?


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Sunny Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by Derek_Stewart »

Hi,

The zip file from Archive.org contains 3 directories, each directory contains zipped up Superbasic files so they need unzipped.

Really looks mess in the way it has been created.

I can alter the way it created and upload it here.

As XorA says look at the QL Hompage all the good QL software is located there.


Regards,

Derek
Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Sunny Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by Derek_Stewart »

Here is an updated TOSEC file
Sinclair QL_TOSEC.zip
Timo Salmi TOSEC file
(50.85 KiB) Downloaded 110 times
I have unzipped all the Superbasic files to 3 directories.

Just unzip the file and point your emulator at the location of the unzipped files.

Then load tthe file with the Superbasic LOAD command, or LRUN if you to load and run the programme.

The files are Superbasic files by Timo Salmi, who was a Professor at a University of Finland.

The above zip is also available on the QL Homepage, in a better format.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
nitrofurano
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:48 am

Re: how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by nitrofurano »

thanks!

i found now that we should enter "dir mdv1_" (attached a directory there) for seeing what is there, and filenames should be short abd without dots - for example, i found there "linegame.bas", but when i entered "load linegame.bas" or "lrun linegame.bas" i get "bad line" error message - so when i renamed it as linegame_bas, it opened fine (i didn't know about this...)

( i started on archive.org tosec because it looked simpler for a starting on unexpanded ql emulation - dilwyn.me.uk seems much more complete and plenty of information, but is is a bit messy for starters - it seems we need to know what and what for is where at first before searching stuff there, and hopefully i'll get there )


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 3932
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Sunny Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by Derek_Stewart »

nitrofurano wrote:thanks!

i found now that we should enter "dir mdv1_" (attached a directory there) for seeing what is there, and filenames should be short abd without dots - for example, i found there "linegame.bas", but when i entered "load linegame.bas" or "lrun linegame.bas" i get "bad line" error message - so when i renamed it as linegame_bas, it opened fine (i didn't know about this...)

( i started on archive.org tosec because it looked simpler for a starting on unexpanded ql emulation - dilwyn.me.uk seems much more complete and plenty of information, but is is a bit messy for starters - it seems we need to know what and what for is where at first before searching stuff there, and hopefully i'll get there )
you should of entered:

LOAD "mdv1_linegame.bas"

Which QDOS will load the specified programme irrespective of the . or _ separator.


Regards,

Derek
User avatar
nitrofurano
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:48 am

Re: how can we run .bas files from archive.org tosec?

Post by nitrofurano »

thanks
for trying, i tuped this on a .bas file and opened there, worked fine!

Code: Select all

[5 paper 7:ink 0:flash 0:cls
10 for y1=0 to 63
11 for x1=0 to 63
12 r=int(rnd*3)
13 for y2=0 to 3 step 2
20 q=131072+x1*2+y2*128+y1*512
40 if r=0 then:poke q,2:poke q+1,2:poke q+128,32:poke q+129,32
41 if r=1 then:poke q,2:poke q+1,10:poke q+128,32:poke q+129,160
42 if r=2 then:poke q,10:poke q+1,43:poke q+128,160:poke q+129,178
50 next y2:next x1:next y1
/code]


Post Reply