Trying to initiate TKII

Helpful tips and guides, also new users can ask for help here.
Post Reply
lowrybt
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:56 pm

Trying to initiate TKII

Post by lowrybt »

Hello,

I'm working with an original BBQL to which a Cumana floppy interface (1.16) and Miracle Expanderam (512K) are attached. I'm trying to launch TKII from floppy using the following command right after power-up and F1:

100 base=RESPR(16384):LBYTES FLP1_Tk2_Ext,base:CALL base

The TK2 file definitely starts to load but invariably the process leads to a reset and hang (looking at the multi-colored hash screen that one sees right after hitting the reset button). Before going any further, should I try the command that takes into account the 6-byte word offset for TK2 ROM images? I don't think the Expanderam has any toolkit type ROM but the Cumana interface definitely has a early version of Toolkit onboard (that is not sub-directory aware),

Thanks, Tom


User avatar
janbredenbeek
Super Gold Card
Posts: 629
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:54 pm
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands

Re: Trying to initiate TKII

Post by janbredenbeek »

lowrybt wrote:Hello,

I'm working with an original BBQL to which a Cumana floppy interface (1.16) and Miracle Expanderam (512K) are attached. I'm trying to launch TKII from floppy using the following command right after power-up and F1:

100 base=RESPR(16384):LBYTES FLP1_Tk2_Ext,base:CALL base

The TK2 file definitely starts to load but invariably the process leads to a reset and hang (looking at the multi-colored hash screen that one sees right after hitting the reset button). Before going any further, should I try the command that takes into account the 6-byte word offset for TK2 ROM images? I don't think the Expanderam has any toolkit type ROM but the Cumana interface definitely has a early version of Toolkit onboard (that is not sub-directory aware),
You must indeed take into account the word offset at base+6, so CALL base+PEEK_W(base+6) should do.
I know about disk interfaces that have a cut down version of TKII on ROM, but as ROM space is limited (16K or even 8K, which includes FLP driver code and I/O space) it's often limited to just file handling commands.

Jan


Martin_Head
Aurora
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:17 pm

Re: Trying to initiate TKII

Post by Martin_Head »

I'm not familiar with the Cumana interface. But with reference to your other thread. If you are trying to get subdirectory support and RAM disks. Then just updating TKII is almost certainly not going to work.

You would need a new FLP driver in ROM that supports level 2, or 3 to get subdirectories, and a separate RAM driver, which could be strored in RAM. To get RAM disks


Post Reply