Page 1 of 3

Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:34 pm
by Jack_Free
Please beg your advice, I have the doubleblock game.
Which is probably tricked for a floppy disk.
I would like to play this game on win1_ but the boot file is executed by exec_w filename_exe, QL writes me at line10;1
After examining a part of the code, I discovered that I have read other files in this file, and these files are searched on FLP.
Is there any way to force QL to run this game?
I know there are commands data_use and prog_use and possibly others.
Is there any way to force QL to look for WIN1_ and think it's on FLP?

Thanks for your advice, I'm in this newbie :-) and I really can not really program it.

Re: Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:38 pm
by NormanDunbar
Does this help by any chance?

https://superbasic-manual.readthedocs.i ... ml#win-use

You might need to change the boot file back to "flp" rather than "win" of course, to get it to work.


Cheers,
Norm.

Re: Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:19 pm
by Derek_Stewart
Hi,

Try:

WIN_USE "FLP"

All accesses to FLP1 will use WIN1

Unless the FLP device in the game is accessed directlt, rather than by Superbasic.

Doubleblock was written by François Lanciault, who reads this forum, maybe he can help.

Re: Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:27 pm
by Jack_Free
I have already tried it, I test it in q-emulator.
WIN_USE FLP returns me BAD NAME
It looks like it's a bad command.

EDIT:
I'm testing in the emulator, no matter if I use dir WIN1_ or dir FLP1_ always see DIR WIN1_

Re: Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 3:26 pm
by pjw
Jack_Free wrote:I have already tried it, I test it in q-emulator.
WIN_USE FLP returns me BAD NAME
It looks like it's a bad command.

EDIT:
I'm testing in the emulator, no matter if I use dir WIN1_ or dir FLP1_ always see DIR WIN1_
Which emulator are you using? Q-Emulator, for example, appears to use its own drivers for win, flp, and mdv, which do not support the standard "use name" scheme - even when running SMSQ/E. My Hot Tip is: Try QPC2 or SMSQmulator! They are free and should run most well-written QL compatible software!

Re: Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 3:40 pm
by NormanDunbar
Jack_Free wrote:WIN_USE FLP returns me BAD NAME
Just to be 100% certain, you are typing the following:

Code: Select all

WIN_USE FLP
or this:

Code: Select all

WIN_USE 'FLP'
Because the quotes probably make a difference to the outcome.

This assumes that q-emulator can handle WIN_IUSE of course, as Per has hinted.


Cheers,
Norm.

Re: Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:09 pm
by Jack_Free
I'm using the Q-emulator, and I really do not.
Apparently I'm doing something wrong.

Re: Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:41 pm
by Cristian
The Flp_use command is useless, because Qemulator slots 1,2,3... are automatically considered as mdv, flp, win etc. simultaneously (see attached screenshot)
dir.jpg

Re: Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:51 pm
by Jack_Free
Yes, that's how you write.
So why am I wondering why the game is not in the emulator?

Re: Doubleblock game - problem

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:32 pm
by Andrew
I really have no idea what are you doing there - Doubleblock works in QEmulator. I tested both with JS-ROM and with Minerva ROM.
I just mapped the doubleblock directory to QEmulator drive 1 (which is seen by the emulator as flp1_, win1_ and mdv1_ at the same time)

The boot file has a single line: 10 EXEC_W flp1_doubleblock_exe.