Running processes and available memory ?

Helpful tips and guides, also new users can ask for help here.
JihemB
ROM Dongle

Running processes and available memory ?

Post by JihemB »

Hello.
I'm a newbie with Sinclair QL (although I deal with several other computers from the 80s, mainly 8 bits).
I recently got a Tetroid interface card with Minerva ROM, built-in Toolkit 2, floppy disc interface and 768k extra memory.

I'm currently trying to extract some programs from disc using the unzip tool I put on RAM1_.
After a few commands, unzip fails with "out of memory" error.
I suspect this may because some programs remains in memory although I think they stopped (BTW : If I call TK2_EXT more than once, do I load Toolkit 2 several times ?)

Since QDOS is AFAIK a premptive multitasking OS, is there a "Linux ps" like command to list all running processes ?
How to check the memory usage ?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Last edited by JihemB on Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

tofro
Font of All Knowledge

Re: Running processes and available memory ?

Post by tofro »

JihemB wrote:Hello.
I'm a newbie with Sinclair QL (although I deal with several other 8 bits computers).
Welcome - but don't call the QL an 8-bit computer. People might get upset ;)
JihemB wrote: I recently got a Tetroid interface card with Minerva ROM, built-in Toolkit 2, floppy disc interface and 768k extra memory.
Good choice to get the true feeling ;)
JihemB wrote: I'm currently trying to extract some programs from disc using the unzip tool I put on RAM1_.
Do you, by any chance, extract the files to the ram disc? Or have you just put the unzip binary there? Unzip will put the files onto the "current data directory" which is set by DATA_USE if not told otherwise. In case that's the RAM disk, that will eat away your plenty memory quickly.