Installing SMSQ/E on BBQL+gold card

Helpful tips and guides, also new users can ask for help here.
Derek_Stewart
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1119
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Installing SMSQ/E on BBQL+gold card

Postby Derek_Stewart » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:11 am

HI Juan,

What version of QPAC2 are you using, later versions, v1.45 use the hi-colours in SMSQ/E. Maybe you need to use Qpac2 v1.39.

What version of SMSQ/E are you using, this can be checked by: PRINT VER$(1)

Maybe your problems are down to mixing hi-colour software with QL resolutions i.e. Mode 4/8 512x256

Make sure there are not any Q-EMulator headers on the software loading in to BBQL with Gold Card.

I have the same hardware as you, so will setup a system similiar and report back.

You can use QDT on a BBQL, but there will be a lot of configuring to alter the Hi-Colour default screen in QDT. But I will see about this, as the Q68 in non-hi-colour modes could use QDT functionailty.


Regards,

Derek
Martin_Head
Gold Card
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:17 pm

Re: Installing SMSQ/E on BBQL+gold card

Postby Martin_Head » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:10 am

I'm concerned about that screen shot. I would have expected the screen to be full of data.

This is the start of QPAC2 from the QPC2 demo
qpac2.png

There's about 20 screen fulls.

Where as in the screen shot there are only 3 lines. I know that copying to the scr_ , it will just scroll to the end of the file. But why isn't the screen full?


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1438
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Installing SMSQ/E on BBQL+gold card

Postby tofro » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:14 am

I'm with you, Martin - The provided screenshot looks more like the dump of a directory file than that of a binary to me.

A dump of a working QPac2 (1.08) on my system looks very similar to yours.

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
jivrt
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Puerto Varas, Chile

Re: Installing SMSQ/E on BBQL+gold card

Postby jivrt » Tue Jul 31, 2018 12:39 pm

Thank you all!

I agree that qpac2 may be a directory. The same file in qemulator is a directory for english, french , german version. There is an —>. Where as in bbql gold there isn’t. Could it be the gold card isnt viewing subdirectories. How do you activate that? With the TDI trump clone I saw subdirectories ok
I will see version for smsqe and qpac2 when I can.

What about the buzzing of the power regulator with SMSQE. Its normal?



Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk


Original BBQL 1985, bought my me in Spain with JM ROM
Tetroid TDI with CF card, ROM switcher, power regulator, Gold Card clone and Backplane
Uses: teaching my children to program
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2532
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing SMSQ/E on BBQL+gold card

Postby RWAP » Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:24 pm

I would guess that the version of SMSQ/e you have installed does not have the code for showing sub-directories with -> at the end of the name; so is a bug in the Gold Card version of SMSQ/e

DIR win1_QPAC2_ should still show the files correctly.

As for the buzzing of the power regulator - that is odd - maybe you need a new power regulator, as the processor is drawing more current to run SMSQ/E ?


User avatar
jivrt
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Puerto Varas, Chile

Re: Installing SMSQ/E on BBQL+gold card

Postby jivrt » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:36 pm

Thank you Rich
I will change the power regulator with the one from tetroid as soon as I receive the membrane I ordered from you!

Dir flp1 qpac2 doesnt show the subdirectories. I will use another floppy with another qpac2


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk


Original BBQL 1985, bought my me in Spain with JM ROM
Tetroid TDI with CF card, ROM switcher, power regulator, Gold Card clone and Backplane
Uses: teaching my children to program
User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1438
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Installing SMSQ/E on BBQL+gold card

Postby tofro » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:52 pm

Linear regulators are known to start to oscillate (read: hum) if the input voltage is becoming too low. So, the humming might be caused by a faulty power brick - Can you check whether your brick still supplies ~9Volts under load?

Tobias


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
jivrt
Chuggy Microdrive
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:16 pm
Location: Puerto Varas, Chile

Re: Installing SMSQ/E on BBQL+gold card

Postby jivrt » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:10 pm

Ok Tobias, I will dig up my voltimeter.
I hope its not the power brick since its the only one I got but it does not hum/buzz with qdos. Only with smsqe. Maybe it makes the processor work harder and drain more power.


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk


Original BBQL 1985, bought my me in Spain with JM ROM
Tetroid TDI with CF card, ROM switcher, power regulator, Gold Card clone and Backplane
Uses: teaching my children to program

Return to “Help for New Users”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest