Software incompatibilies?

Helpful tips and guides, also new users can ask for help here.
User avatar
belg4rion67
Trump Card
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:15 pm
Location: Milan - Italy

Re: Software incompatibilies?

Postby belg4rion67 » Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:10 pm

RWAP wrote:Are you enabling the Toolkit II ROM (needed for LRESPR especially):

Add TK2_EXT to your boot file.


I'm again on this post because I've a little doubt about my config: on my QL (base machine) I've changed original JS roms with a 64Kbyte eprom with in first 48 kbyte Minerva 1.98 SO and in last 16 kbyte TKII, I also installed Sandy SuperQboard with additional 512Kbyte ram, fdd interface and lpt interface and, I suppose, a part of TKII.
My question is: can live TKII on eprom, with part of TKII on Sandy board?
It seems yes but sometimes with few programs my QL has strange behaviour: doesn't recognise a command but after a clear or dir it works again...
Have you some idea about that? Why I don't need to write TK2_EXT command to have toolkit adds operative? (it works immediatly after boot)
Cheers


Only original hardware! :)
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Software incompatibilies?

Postby RWAP » Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:11 am

So far as I know the Sandy SuperQBoard has the full Toolkit II built into it, so you should not need the Toolkit II EPROM at the same time.

If there are commands missing (ie. the SuperQBoard has a subset of Toolkit II), then it should be possible for both to co-exist, although TK2_EXT would be needed to initialise the Toolkit II EPROM.

There may be some conflict from the network commands, but that is probably all, as the new functions and procedures in the EPROM initialised when you enter the command TK2_EXT will over-write those on the SuperQBoard (initialised when the QL first boots).

I have a spare SuperQBoard manual here if required (i need to dig it out, hence my vague answer above).


User avatar
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 2015
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Software incompatibilies?

Postby Dave » Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:31 pm

The SuperQBoard used a full version of TKII. The version was updated a couple of times.

I used to sit there for hours burning the EPROMs on a QEPIII programmer.


User avatar
tofro
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1447
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Software incompatibilies?

Postby tofro » Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:17 pm

Dave wrote:The SuperQBoard used a full version of TKII. The version was updated a couple of times.


To add to that:
The SuperQBoard's TKII (mine, at least) is only activated after "TK2_EXT" (And, to confirm what Dave has said: From my experience, the SuperQBoard contains a full TK2). So I guess you should be safe with burning a new EPROM without TK2. What probably happens there is that the expanded drivers of the two ROMS (net and file system,...) have both their ISRs, Polling and Scheduler Loop routines linked in and only the last ROM to be linked in its Basic procedures. This could very well cause some hickups.

If you don't want to burn your complete ROM but have access to an EPROM burner that can address single locations, it would suffice to invalidate the TK2 ROM header (the $4aFB $0001 signature at the beginning). This should prevent the ROM from being linked into the OS.

Cheers,
tofro


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
User avatar
belg4rion67
Trump Card
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:15 pm
Location: Milan - Italy

Re: Software incompatibilies?

Postby belg4rion67 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:56 pm

Ok, then if I well understood your tips the best thing is burn on first 48k Minerva OS and use toolkit 2 of Sandy board isn't it?
All right sunday I'll burn new eprom and test it :)
Thanks to all


Only original hardware! :)
User avatar
Mr_Navigator
QL Fanatic
Posts: 782
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:17 pm
Location: UK, Essex
Contact:

Re: Software incompatibilies?

Postby Mr_Navigator » Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:17 pm

and of course Dilwyn has done extensive articles in QUANTA on the fabled .zip _zip issue(s) :)


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
QLick here for the Back 2 the QL Blog http://backtotheql.blogspot.co.uk/
User avatar
dilwyn
Mr QL
Posts: 1396
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Wales
Contact:

Re: Software incompatibilies?

Postby dilwyn » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:23 pm

Mr_Navigator wrote:and of course Dilwyn has done extensive articles in QUANTA on the fabled .zip _zip issue(s) :)

Ugh...don't remind me. Zipping, unzipping, bad parameter, loss of file headers...

It never goes away no matter how hard I try to explain it.

The sheer range of "QL" filing systems on the various systems - emulators, Q40, Q60, Qubide, QXL.WIN and so on make it hard for people to keep up with such topics.

Dilwyn


Dilwyn
All things QL: see www.dilwyn.me.uk

Return to “Help for New Users”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest