Minerva ROM on Issue 5

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
drgusman
ROM Dongle

Minerva ROM on Issue 5

Post by drgusman »

Hi!

I want to replace the original rom of my Issue 5 with Minerva and if possible also add Toolkit II to it, and I have some doubts.

I have a good bunch of 27C256 and I have read that on the Issue 5 there is a jumper that allows you to use these, is that true? And if it is, which jumper is it? Any info/picture is appreciated.

Also, I have no clue how Toolkit II is installed, I mean, as far as I see Minerva is 48Kb and Toolkit II is 16Kb, so, is Minerva installed on the first ROM (IC33) and then Toolkit II in the second (IC34)? Is that correct? Or both are combined into a single 27C256?

Sorry if this is something obvious or already been answered a million times, I swear I haven't found the correct answer and I'm very new to the QL world :D

Cheers!

janbredenbeek
Super Gold Card

Re: Minerva ROM on Issue 5

Post by janbredenbeek »

Only earlier versions of the Issue 5 board were equipped to use Eproms. These can be identified by the presence of IC17 (a 74LS00) immediately left of the ZX8302, just above the trimmer capacitor.

Later versions had ROMs installed which were programmed to output only on a specific combination of the A14 and A15 and ROMOEH signals, avoiding the need for the extra address decoding by IC17.

The original Minerva was shipped as a 27512 EPROM on a small PCB with extra address decoding, which plugged in one of the ROM sockets. Only the first 48K was used; Toolkit II was shipped as an add-on module which plugged into the ROM port at the back (it occupies the memory space $C000-$FFFF).

You can replace the ROMs by 2x 27256 or even a 27512, but you must add your own logic for decoding the A14 and A15 and ROMOEH signals and feeding them to the CE and OE pins.