Another hello from the Netherlands

Introduce yourself here!
-B-
ROM Dongle

Another hello from the Netherlands

Post by -B- »

Hi All,
Hello from Zuid Holland. A Brit living and working abroad, formally from the Noth-East.

I am new to the QL and I picked up a second hand one at the back end of last year but just got round to putting a new keyboard membrane in it. RWAP give you a listing with the membrane to type in and test the keyboard but, naturally I made a typo. I couldn't work out how to delete the typo so got the manual out!
That is how new to the QL I am!!!

However, I am not new to the Sinclair Microdrive and luckily, the ones that came with the QL still actually worked so I know at least one of the drives work!

And naturally, I found this forum to help me increase my QL competence!

Apart from RTM, what do you suggest I do with it next?

Regards,

Neil.

Bubu
Bent Pin Expansion Port

Re: Another hello from the Netherlands

Post by Bubu »

Hi, -B-, and very wellcome!!

Ah, nice nick you have :-D :-D :-D (and above all, short and easy to write). Sorry, but, what does RTM mean?

If something works... DON'T TOUCH IT!!! AT ALL!!!
RWAP
RWAP Master

Post by RWAP »

RTM means Read the Manual....

Without access to disk drives, you would be advised to work your way through the Beginners Guide in the QL User's manual - there are several programs to type in there so that you can begin to learn SuperBASIC.

The QL User Group (Quanta) still remains very useful to new comers and you can find plenty of programs to type in in their magazines and in QL World.

It all depends what you are interested in learning and what your background is. If you are new to computers as a programming tool, then SuperBASIC is probably the best way to start out, but if you have programmed in other languages on other computers (for example C, LISP, PASCAL etc), then we can help you out with getting a QL version to use....