DP's Sprite Generator bug/issue/emulation

Anything QL Software or Programming Related.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mr_Navigator
QL Fanatic
Posts: 782
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:17 pm
Location: UK, Essex
Contact:

DP's Sprite Generator bug/issue/emulation

Post by Mr_Navigator »

I wonder if anyone else can help, I have DP's Super Sprite Generator version 3.5 and I am currently running it in Qemulator as the RESPR code will not load in QPCII. So far so good the main program loads and I can Design sprite sections, I can construct Sprites and run them in the demo Superbasic program and also in the test program. The demonstration program also works seemingly OK as well. The problem I have is the X coordinate move which you can increase 1 value + or -, however the sprite does not move until a value of 4 has occurred and the the sprite moves four pixels on the screen in either direction.

The Y value works fine but not the X value.

The documentation states
The sprite position is taken as its bottom leftmost pixel. XD, XY, XP are the displacements of the sprite, each time it is drawn, in the X, Y & plane directions. Sprites are drawn each time the SPRITE Keyword is issued for any sprite or automatically via SSGCON.

The values are fractions of 256, ie; a value of 1024 will move 4 pixels
every call (1024/256 = 4).
I tried different values 256, 512,1024 2048 but nothing seems to make any difference

the main code use in the test program is as follows:

1 dev$='flp1_'
100 REMark Demo
120 PAPER 0:INK 7:MODE 8
150 SSGINIT 20000,30,166,12,20,220
160 :
170 SSGFILE dev$&"descent_sprite"
210 SSGCON 3
220 :
240 CLS
300 SSGMODE 1
380 x1=1:y1=68:p1=1:flag=1:xd=1
390 REPeat loop
400 d=CODE(INKEY$(0))
410 SELect ON d
420 =49 TO 57:d=d-48:flag=2^d
430 =192:x1=x1-1
440 =200:x1=x1+1
450 =208:y1=y1+1
460 =216:y1=y1-1
470 END SELect
480 IF SSGEDGE(1)=8 THEN xd=-1:flag=5
490 IF SSGEDGE(1)=4 THEN xd=1:flag=69
500 SPRITE 1,flag,p1,x1,y1,256,256,256
520 END REPeat loop



the last three options on SPRITE are the XD, XY and XP as above, these are the ones I have messed around with to no avail

I have not yet tried this on a QL proper as all my setups are in temp storage at the moment.


the documentation also states

Its main features are:
* Sprites can be drawn & changed easily.
* Sprite drawing is multitasked.
* Each sprite can have up to 16 different shapes.
* Up to 16 different sprites on the screen at a time.
* Up to 256 sprites can be available at any one time.
* Up to 256 different planes - collisions occur in one plane.
* Smooth, flicker-free movement in 3 dimensions.
* Full choice of graphic modes & screens.
* Easy control through keywords.


Jumping on the X axis by 4 pixels is hardly what I call smooth

Any ideas anyone?


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
QLick here for the Back 2 the QL Blog http://backtotheql.blogspot.co.uk/
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: DP's Sprite Generator bug/issue/emulation

Post by RWAP »

I think this is down to a bug in q-emulator - suggest you send all files to Daniele Terdina to look at on his test system.

I know that Lands of Havoc has a similar issue - move slightly to the right or left and the character disappears.

Daniele thought that this was linked to my removal of the copy protection scheme, so we did not investigate much further (other priorities!)


Post Reply