Q60

The Thor, Aurora, Q40 and Q60 etc. are discussed here.
User avatar
vanpeebles
Commissario Pebbli
Posts: 1766
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: North East UK

Re: Q60

Postby vanpeebles » Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:24 am

Hehe I was thinking I'd have one if it came with the insides too :)


Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Q60

Postby Dave » Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:32 pm

I think it's fair to say that if someone were to make a batch of 20 or 25 Q60s, they would all sell.


User avatar
XorA
Gold Card
Posts: 415
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK

Re: Q60

Postby XorA » Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:45 pm

Dave wrote:I think it's fair to say that if someone were to make a batch of 20 or 25 Q60s, they would all sell.


Dave's Q60 server farm?


User avatar
Peter
Gold Card
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Q60

Postby Peter » Fri Apr 25, 2014 3:10 pm

Dave wrote:I think it's fair to say that if someone were to make a batch of 20 or 25 Q60s, they would all sell.


I'm sure 25+ would have sold, if made 10 to 5 years ago.

Today the monitor misery bothers me somewhat. I fail to find true multisync these days.

I'd say 15 is save, 20 almost safe.


Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Q60

Postby Dave » Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:07 pm

Many of the components get a price break at 20 or 25, so making 25 would not cost that much more than making 15. If you have ten extra almost free, it means you can recover the cost in the first 10-15 sales which is a good motivation.

I, and I imagine a lot of other people, would have bought a Q60 if it had been available as a bare board. That alone could have potentially doubled sales.

Still, it's the fastest QL clone out there.

For now :)


User avatar
1024MAK
Gold Card
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: Q60

Postby 1024MAK » Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:52 pm

Well, I don't have a clue how many would sell, but I would buy one. So that's at least one sale.

Mark


QL, Falcon, Atari 520STFM, Atari 1040STE, more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (Sinclair and Acorn)(nearly forgot the Psion's)
User avatar
Derek_Stewart
Aurora
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Q60

Postby Derek_Stewart » Sat Apr 26, 2014 3:13 pm

I forgot to say, that I sprayed the XPC Cube Black and used Black CDROM & Floppy Drives.


Regards,

Derek
Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Q60

Postby Dave » Sat Apr 26, 2014 4:09 pm

My MPlane/Aurora based QL is possibly the smallest QL in the World. If I could just get a QL-SD it would be complete. It does use an external floppy, though.

It contains an MPlane, a tiny telecoms PSU, an Aurora, Gold Card and QubIDE with 2MB CF.

I used a Neoware CA21 case:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/lot-0f-2-CA21-N ... 1466594810

A VLT60-3000 PSU:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/EOS-VLT60-3000- ... 1260771205

I have about 50 of the PSUs. They can comfortably run an entire QL and all accessories including SGC. They provide 5V @ 8A, 12V @3A and -12V @ 0.5A. They measure 102mm x 51mm x 25mm. Compact!


User avatar
Peter
Gold Card
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Q60

Postby Peter » Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:27 am

How does the Neoware CA21 case compare to this?
http://q40.de/q60/miniq60.html

The new Q60 case we work on would be smaller, as it has no floppy.
And the smallest will hopefully be the Q68, just 8 x 10cm including all the connectors. ;)


Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Q60

Postby Dave » Mon Apr 28, 2014 5:30 pm

I have you beat on the Q60 case by a small margin, but nothing will ever be as small as the Q68.



Return to “Compatibles Corner”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest