Modded QL?

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
robheaton
Site Admin
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Ormskirk, UK

Re: Modded QL?

Postby robheaton » Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:16 am

Hi Oliver,
Thanks for the info, when I use the rgb output I get the effect shown in the pictures, I have been unable to get a picture using RF.
I have tried two different tv's, and no joy.

(The cabIe I have works, as if I use my other QL, I can get a picture via RF)


Current Retro Hardware :-
ZX80 Clone, ZX81 + Chroma + ZXPand + Zeddynet, Just Speccy 128, BB Sinclair QL + Trump Card Clone, Aurora + Super GC + QubIDE.
BBC Model B 32k + Datacenter + Z80 Tube, BBC Master 128k + Datacenter & 6502 Tube.
Commodore 64.
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2291
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Modded QL?

Postby RWAP » Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:08 pm

robheaton wrote:Hi Oliver,
Thanks for the info, when I use the rgb output I get the effect shown in the pictures, I have been unable to get a picture using RF.
I have tried two different tv's, and no joy.

(The cabIe I have works, as if I use my other QL, I can get a picture via RF)


In that case, it is likely to be the ZX8301 or the MC1377P - I would try a different 8301 (or at least remove the internal expansion first!).


User avatar
robheaton
Site Admin
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Ormskirk, UK

Re: Modded QL?

Postby robheaton » Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:52 pm

I think I'll have to purchase some spare parts, as I don't want to open my working QL for fear of breaking the membrane!

Best get over to http://www.sellmyreto.com!


Current Retro Hardware :-
ZX80 Clone, ZX81 + Chroma + ZXPand + Zeddynet, Just Speccy 128, BB Sinclair QL + Trump Card Clone, Aurora + Super GC + QubIDE.
BBC Model B 32k + Datacenter + Z80 Tube, BBC Master 128k + Datacenter & 6502 Tube.
Commodore 64.
User avatar
robheaton
Site Admin
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Ormskirk, UK

Re: Modded QL?

Postby robheaton » Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:38 pm

Just a quick update..

I've replaced the MC1377 chip and this has corrected the video output! :mrgreen:

Another QL lives!


Current Retro Hardware :-
ZX80 Clone, ZX81 + Chroma + ZXPand + Zeddynet, Just Speccy 128, BB Sinclair QL + Trump Card Clone, Aurora + Super GC + QubIDE.
BBC Model B 32k + Datacenter + Z80 Tube, BBC Master 128k + Datacenter & 6502 Tube.
Commodore 64.
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2291
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Modded QL?

Postby RWAP » Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:22 pm

robheaton wrote:Just a quick update..

I've replaced the MC1377 chip and this has corrected the video output! :mrgreen:

Another QL lives!


Glad to hear that was all it was, although the MC1377 is in an awkward place - just enough room to get a screwdriver between the chip and the microdrive units to remove the chip.

On the negative side, I broke one of the pins on the expansion connector of my trusted QL last night - I have a couple of spare expansion connectors, but cannot face desoldering and re-soldering that many pins. I might just dip into the numerous QLs I have here and see if I can find a working motherboard..


Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 1636
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Modded QL?

Postby Dave » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:17 pm

The memory expansion was manufactured by SPEM in Italy, and was probably supplied by Sandy UK. It is a highly inferior part and we stopped selling them very quickly. Also, it reduced the speed of the QL measurably.

It can be removed but often it damaged the sockets it sat in, so it's important to check them and make sure the ICs make good connections when returned to their original sockets.

The expansion connector is easy to replace if you simply use some desolder braid. I have seen people use a hot air gun, but this part isn't really suited for that.


User avatar
robheaton
Site Admin
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Ormskirk, UK

Re: Modded QL?

Postby robheaton » Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:23 pm

Hi Dave,
If you don't mind me asking, where did you used to work selling QL parts?


Current Retro Hardware :-
ZX80 Clone, ZX81 + Chroma + ZXPand + Zeddynet, Just Speccy 128, BB Sinclair QL + Trump Card Clone, Aurora + Super GC + QubIDE.
BBC Model B 32k + Datacenter + Z80 Tube, BBC Master 128k + Datacenter & 6502 Tube.
Commodore 64.
User avatar
robheaton
Site Admin
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Ormskirk, UK

Re: Modded QL?

Postby robheaton » Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:55 pm

RWAP wrote:On the negative side, I broke one of the pins on the expansion connector of my trusted QL last night - I have a couple of spare expansion connectors, but cannot face desoldering and re-soldering that many pins. I might just dip into the numerous QLs I have here and see if I can find a working motherboard..


How did you break a pin on the expansion connector?
(I would go with replacing the mainboard versus all that soldering!!)


Current Retro Hardware :-
ZX80 Clone, ZX81 + Chroma + ZXPand + Zeddynet, Just Speccy 128, BB Sinclair QL + Trump Card Clone, Aurora + Super GC + QubIDE.
BBC Model B 32k + Datacenter + Z80 Tube, BBC Master 128k + Datacenter & 6502 Tube.
Commodore 64.
RWAP
RWAP Master
Posts: 2291
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Modded QL?

Postby RWAP » Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:21 am

robheaton wrote:How did you break a pin on the expansion connector?
(I would go with replacing the mainboard versus all that soldering!!)


It's all too easily done when testing several expansion interfaces and inserting them/removing them - some of them are a terrible fit in the QL, others have excess plastic on the expansion connectors, so all it takes is a little too much force and one pin bends (or breaks!)


Dave
SandySuperQDave
Posts: 1636
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:52 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Modded QL?

Postby Dave » Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:38 am

robheaton wrote:Hi Dave,
If you don't mind me asking, where did you used to work selling QL parts?


Sandy UK, when they were at the Manton Lane, Bedford location. 1984-87.



Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: twellys and 1 guest