Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Nagging hardware related question? Post here!
User avatar
1024MAK
Gold Card
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby 1024MAK » Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:48 am

Compare the pictures on the eBay listing with the pictures on this page http://www.power-adapters.co.uk/index.p ... s_id=16718

Mark


QL, Falcon, Atari 520STFM, Atari 1040STE, more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (Sinclair and Acorn)(nearly forgot the Psion's)
Bloodnok
ROM Dongle
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 9:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby Bloodnok » Sat Oct 01, 2016 10:09 am

Hi Mark,

Prompted by your warning I pulled apart one of the cheap 12V/5V PSUs I have and as a result the two I have went straight to the bin. For a start they almost fell apart in my hands as I started to dismantle them which is a major safety issue in itself. As for the other safety problems your information proved to be absolutely correct and I would strongly advise against anyone purchasing these, or similar, for any use. Makes you think about the quality of all the other switched mode PSUs around the house - USB chargers etc.

Here's a link to a teardown and review of one these cheap PSUs: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=35254

So, thanks for the timely reminder. There are plenty of safe alternatives - it's just not worth risking either your own personal safety or your prized retro gear to save a few bucks (pounds).

BTW - It wasn't clear in my post but, yes, the existing PSU circuitry in the micro peripherals floppy case would need to be isolated from any external DC supply.

Charles


User avatar
cercamon
ROM Dongle
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby cercamon » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:13 am

Thank you for advice. Maybe I can try one of these adaptors and replace the mini-DIN with a standard DIN connector.
I need the pin layout configuration of the 6-pin DIN connector (the one on the original PSU or on the MIcro Peripherals QLFDC device plug). Anyone?

Thanks.
David


Real QL beginner ;)
User avatar
cercamon
ROM Dongle
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby cercamon » Sat Oct 29, 2016 1:24 pm

Still looking for the pinout of the disk drive DIN6 plug. Please help.

Here is the label of the PSU:
Image


Real QL beginner ;)
Bloodnok
ROM Dongle
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 9:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby Bloodnok » Sun Oct 30, 2016 2:31 am

Here you go...

Micro-peripherals power.JPG
Micro Peripherals PSU DIN


User avatar
cercamon
ROM Dongle
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby cercamon » Sun Oct 30, 2016 1:39 pm

Great, thank you very much! :-)


Real QL beginner ;)
User avatar
bagpuss22
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:57 am
Location: East Sussex, United Kingdom

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby bagpuss22 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 2:42 am

IS this still an on going issue/question?

I have now come into the possession of the original PSU (missing DIN plug) and a second drive (with 5 pin DIN).

I take it that neither are that useful without the drive in the middle UNLESS I just make
an adaptor that converts the voltages to 12 and 5v

My other question is if the PSU is outputting 15Vac and 9vdc how are the 6 pins in the diagram
containing 18vac and 11vac?

Russ


User avatar
cercamon
ROM Dongle
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby cercamon » Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:58 pm

Yes, it's still an ongoing issue. At least in my case, as I still didn't find a valid PSU replacement.
And yes, as you pointed out, @bagpuss22, the diagram shows different voltages form the ones that appear on the original PSU.

In your case. I think you need the middle drive or an proper voltage converter.

Funny that you now have exactly what I'm missing and vice-versa. :-)


Real QL beginner ;)
User avatar
bagpuss22
Bent Pin Expansion Port
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:57 am
Location: East Sussex, United Kingdom

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby bagpuss22 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:50 pm

@cercamon

Well if it comes to the point where my parts are useless without the bit you have in the middle then
I would be happy to let you have the bits you need to get a complete system.
I only have these pieces as I collect Sinclair bits and pieces, I already have floppy drives for both my QLs.

Russ


User avatar
cercamon
ROM Dongle
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Anyone with a psu for Microperipherals Floppy Interface?

Postby cercamon » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:13 pm

@bagpuss22

Thank you very much for your offer. I'll take it into great consideration.
Meanwhile I finally managed to find the original PSU for the MicroP Disk Drive.

Image

https://cloud.nablasolutions.ch/owncloud/index.php/s/5HLLLOzy1mcvXYK

A week ago, while moving house, the guy who sold me the MIcroP Disk Drive for the Sinclair QL, unexpectedly found the original PSU of this rare peripheral, lost somewhere in his attic.
He was kind enough to remember my email address and contact me to see if I still needed it. Of course I did, so for the shipping cost only, I got it today. :) :)


Real QL beginner ;)

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests